Is the new MBP 17" memory capacity 8 or 16GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RICARDOVASCO, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. RICARDOVASCO macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #1
    Hi all .Im buying a MBP 17"quad core ( MD311LL/A). I saw the Apple specification and it says the memory capacity is 8GB. However , I've seen the same MD311LL/A with 16 GB on Ebay. I'd like to know really whats the maximum capacity for them. 2 x 4 GB or 2 X 8GB ? Can I buy only a 8BG slot and have it working with 12 GB?

    Regards
    Ricardo
     
  2. mr.suff macrumors regular

    mr.suff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds
    #2
    That model will be compatible with 2 x 8GB dimms of RAM.

    It may work with a 4GB and an 8GB, but it will work best with a pair of RAM the same size.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    32GB in theory but i still think 16GB kits 8GBx2 are the biggest out there
     
  5. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #5
    You can in theory do a 12gb configuration, but be aware that the machine has dual channel memory - if you don't match the two slots, your memory access speed is not as good (it can't read from both chips at once).

    If you think you only "need" 12gb, but can afford 16gb (its not expensive now?), it may still be worth getting 16gb so that you maintain dual channel memory access. This will improve performance for memory io intensive apps (vs a 12 gig setup) even if they aren't using all your memory.
     
  6. eastamherstbias macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #6
    I put 16 ram in my 17inch Late 2011 Macbook Pro. Works well no complaints.
     
  7. RICARDOVASCO thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #7
    Thank you all! Yes, I think I will upgrade it for 16gb ( 8 + 8gb).

    Regards
    Ricardo
     
  8. RICARDOVASCO thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #8
    Just one more question. If the MD311LL/A comes with 4GB memory ram, is it 2 x 2 GB or 1 x 4 GB?
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Two 2 GB modules.
     
  10. RICARDOVASCO thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #10
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    No, as it says this:
    While the picture shows notebook RAM, the details are about desktop RAM.
    You need 204-pin SO-DIMM RAM modules. Newegg and Amazon have them.

     
  12. RICARDOVASCO thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #12
    Thank you so much!

    I think this one is the correct. Isn't it?

    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-1333M...7?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1332610677&sr=1-7

    I also found this cheap one but some people are complaining about some errors... bugs..etc

    http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-PC3-10600-1333MHz-204-Pin-9-9-9-25/dp/B00698WP50/ref=pd_cp_pc_0

    What do you think? Is Corsair better?
     
  13. mfuchs88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #13

    I found 16GB for only 99 dollars. The price recently dropped form 129 to 99, so keep an eye on it because it may drop more soon. It's a relatively unknown brand, but the reviews are great, and a good buddy of mine who has it on his 13" swears by it. http://trdd.us/pn
     

Share This Page