Is the PowerMac G5 dual core or single?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kikobarbada, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. kikobarbada macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    Hello. A question.

    Is the PowerMac G5 dual core or single?
    If so, 2 2.0ghz is even worse than an Intel Core 2 Duo dual core from a Macbook (2.0).

    Thanks.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. kikobarbada thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    Is the Powermac G5 singlecore or dual core (per processor)?
     
  4. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #4
    Depends on the model.

    At first it was 2 CPUS, dual processor.

    Then it was 1 dual-core processor, 2 CPUs.

    Then they finally created the Quad-Core with 2 dual cores: 8 CPUs


    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g5/index-powermac-g5.html

    is a good start


    in all honesty, if you want answers to your questions, make your questions more detailed.

    because the arbitrary word "worse" makes no sense when talking about computing power. you are comparing a desktop to a laptop, where the CPU speed and cores make less of an impact on performance than all the bottlenecks.
     
  5. MacPossum macrumors 6502

    MacPossum

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #5
    That's not true. There's more than just CPU clock speed that makes a computer fast. As a matter of fact, I'm pretty sure those G5's have more FSB than the MacBook Intel chips for one.
     
  6. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #6
    The first PowerMac G5 was just one, single core G5 chip. Then it was 2, single core chips, then one dual core, then 2 dual cores to make the quad. LOL hope that helps. And as for speed, id still take that G5 over the laptop chip (core 2 duo). Just because the Core 2 duo has a higher number of Ghz, doesnt make it faster.. but if no one corrected anyone, no one would know :p

    -Dustin
     
  7. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #7
    I have a dual-core 2.0 G5. It has a 1Ghz bus, which I think makes it at least comparable to the Intel laptops.
     

Share This Page