Is the ram in a a macbook interchangeble with an iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kim2272, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. kim2272 macrumors regular

    kim2272

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    #1
    I don't know much about RAM and memory upgrades but I have a macbook 2009 unibody and it has 2gb of RAM. I also have an iMac 27" with 4gb of ram. I know that they are both DDR3. So, I am going to buy 2 x 2gb of ram from micron to put in my macbook. I was wondering if I can use the 2 x 1gb that I will have left over to put in my iMac so I will have 6gb altogether. I hope that wasn't confusing ^_^
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Yes, as far as the iMac is the 2009 model. The 2010 model uses faster RAM.

    Btw, know that the 2GB in the MacBook are two 1GB sticks.
     
  3. kim2272 thread starter macrumors regular

    kim2272

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    #3
    Thank you! Yes, I know, I messed up in the numbering when I asked the question but I fixed it! :)
     
  4. SpeedFleX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Interwebz
    #4
    Yes I did the same, I had bought 2x4GB Ram for my macbook, but it keep locking up so I just saved them for a while and when I got my iMac just stuck them in there so now I have 2GB in my Macbook and 8GB in my iMac.
     
  5. kim2272 thread starter macrumors regular

    kim2272

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sunshine State

Share This Page