Is the Retina display worth it for non-editors/non-professionals?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by paperrobots, Jun 11, 2012.

1. paperrobots macrumors newbie

Hey! I'm kind of new to Mac (and kind of computer illiterate), so I just have a quick question. My tech-savvy friends say the new Retina is only worth it for video/music editors and professionals. Is this true? For a normal everyday user who mostly just surfs the web and watches movies, would it be worth the extra cost from the MacBook Pro?

Thanks in advance!

2. Vctr macrumors regular

Let me ask you this ... Do you think the iPad 3 is for professional use as well?

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

The MBP with retina display is cheaper than the MBP without it, configured the same way. It doesn't matter if you're in any particular profession. It's worth it if you say it is, for whatever reason you choose.

4. dsciel macrumors regular

I would say no because no movies has made for that resolution. Therefore, it should provide you the same experience watching in a regular 15" or Retina.. by browsing the web, I would say there is difference since texts are more clear..

BUT you really have to go to the Apple store to feel the difference

5. Hidendra macrumors member

It's an IPS display. Yes, yes, yes.

Comparing IPS to TN is like night and day (I have an IPS and TN monitor side by side) -- you don't need to be an editor to appreciate the significant difference in colour reproduction IPS has over TN.

6. Mavrack macrumors member

Mavrack