Is the Time Capsule for me?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rkdiddy, May 28, 2008.

1. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

rkdiddy

Hi Everyone,

I'm a Mac Newbie, only had my MBP for 2-months now.

Unfortunately, my harddrive crashed last night and I lost about 20 hours of work. I do back-up my system to an external but only about every two weeks or so.

Here is my question - I have a Dell PC, a Dell Laptop and a MBP. I need an external harddrive to back-up my graphic/web design files from my MBP and I want to be able to save files from the PC/Laptop on the harddrive.

Is the TC right for me?

If not, can anyone recommend any other options. I currently have a Linksys Wireless G router - so I'm open to upgrade my router if need be.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.

R

2. Batt macrumors 65816

Batt

TC is for you. No-brain, simple backups. Easy restores. Pick a size and order one.

3. Knolly macrumors 6502a

Got my a TC about a month ago and have never been happier. I'd certainly recommend it.

4. gwsat macrumors 68000

gwsat

I have had my TC for not quite a month and love it. My only warning is to not get in too much of a hurry with large backups, especially the first backup. I decided to do mine wirelessly and backing up 80 gig took 20 hours. But it all went on in the background and the backup was perfect. Because of how much time large backups take, many users have been overcome by anxiety neurosis and concluded that something was amiss. Usually it isn’t.

5. mike12806 macrumors 6502

If the OP already has an external drive, if it's USB, why not just get an Airport Extreme? I know it's not "officially sanctioned", but I've been doing AEBS backups for months now with no problems, even with restores.

6. Batt macrumors 65816

Batt

I did my initial backup (40GB) via ethernet cable, took about 2 hours.

7. akm3 macrumors 68020

I think a TC is wrong for you.