Is the upgrade worth it right now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tislight, Feb 28, 2011.

1. tislight macrumors newbie

Ok, guys; I have a mid 2009 2.8ghz dual core Macbook Pro with 2 years left of applecare and have been thinking about upgrading to the current quad core i7 2.2ghz model. I don't game nor do any type of video editing. I run an online business from home, and I am also a full time grad student. I use my laptop for convenience only. I usually do most of my work on my iMac.

Is there any advantage to upgrading now? I just don't want to hold my current Macbook until it's not worth much on the secondary market. However, it does still have 2 years of warranty left.

2. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

JamesGorman

Keep it. Thats still a very capable machine. You wont notice a difference in speed at all. Especially considering your needs are not very power hungry.

3. SPEEDwithJJ macrumors 65816

SPEEDwithJJ

Given what you do with your MBP, your current one is fine. :) However, if you can afford to upgrade, I don't see why not. I say GO FOR IT. :D

4. tislight thread starter macrumors newbie

Well I also forgot to mention that I will be out of school after this semester so this will be my last chance for the education discount as well.

5. vsighi, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

vsighi macrumors 6502

vsighi

Keep it... the next apple refresh...
    - New intel Ivy Bridge @ 22nm "Ivy Bridge will offer a 20 % CPU performance advantage over Sandy Bridge "
    - Light Peack v1.2
    - USB 3.0 will be suported look like in 2012 with Intel new Panter Point chipset...
    - New redisign MBP with liquidmetal
    - Lion OS
    - 1080p HD Display
    - May be new batery technology...?
    - Blu-ray OPTICAL DRIVE...oooh s*** I made that up :D

6. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

idea_hamster

And maybe even using both SATA III ports, instead of leaving one empty and wasted.... :confused:

7. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

8. elpmas macrumors 68000