Is the used memory too much?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yahoohoo, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. yahoohoo, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011

    yahoohoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #1
    I just got my low-end MBP 13'' 2010, and it's my first contact with Mac OS. Since I got experiences with Linux, it's quite easy to work with the new system. But I found my SL 10.6.6 took roughly 2GBytes although there were just few applications running. Please see the attached figure. Is this normal? Thanks for any reply.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    I dont think its abnormal. Are the numbers fluctuating or are they pretty consistent? A restart will clear your RAM.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Free RAM is wasted RAM. If you got plenty of empty RAM sitting there, then the OS and apps will take advantage of it. It's no use to have e.g. 90% free just for the sake of it being free. OS and apps will use more RAM if there is more RAM available in order to improve the performance.

    EDIT: Inactive RAM is free as well so you are really only using about 1.3GB.
     
  4. yahoohoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for your swift reply.

    After restarting, the used memory is still roughly the same, no big change.
     
  5. yahoohoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #5
    My Win XP just takes up less than 200MBytes. That's why I'm wondering. Looks like the two systems work in different ways from your explanation.
     
  6. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    Very much so.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Windows XP was designed for early 2000s computers. Computers at that time had a fraction of RAM compared to today's computers. That's why it will also use less RAM since it was designed to use less. OS X, on the other hand, is designed to use more RAM since SL is less than 2 years old and designed for today's computers. XP also looks plainer and doesn't have cool animations and stuff that generally like to eat RAM.
     
  8. yahoohoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #8
    Thanks. Point taken.
    Acctually this is my first post on MR. Very helpful.
     
  9. Miss Terri, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011

    Miss Terri macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    US East Coast
    #9
    Hi Yahoohoo and welcome to Mac ownership and MR :)

    I have your same computer (2010 MBP 13" 2.4gz, built in November 2010) and I'm really enjoying it (but I've had many older Macs and was most recently using my ancient, creaky iBook after a premature Macbook death, so this seemed like a HUGE upgrade).

    I don't know if I *needed* to do this, but because of my Firefox tab-hogging ways, I just ordered an 8gb RAM uprgrade for my MBP. It's just so darned affordable now (I remember when it used to be a big-hairy-expensive upgrade :p). (Even a respected name brand 8gb kit was under $100 and easy to install oneself.) At least from my understanding, lotsa tabs open = lotsa RAM useful (if I'm wrong, anyone feel free to correct me!) (Of course maybe you are not a tab hog anyway).

    I envy you your Linux skills -- I bet you'll just be playing around in Terminal whereas I have to steel my nerves to do so :)

    Mostly just posting to say "welcome" (but I read the thread because I have been learning more about reading the activity monitor).

    Miss Terri
     
  10. yahoohoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #10
    Thanks for your welcome post, :D. My working desktop has Fedora, which is even more user friendly than WinXP. The reason I bought the MBP is to experience Mac OS which is closer to Linux. Let's have fun with our MBP's.
     
  11. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/8F190)

    Don't worry, you don't want to be like that guy who has 16gb ram but only 4gb used lol
     
  12. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #12
    OSX tends to take up as much RAM as it can and then free it up only when something else needs it, this keeps the apps that are using the RAM speedy.
     
  13. yahoohoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #13
    I'm just sticking to the low-end configuration. That's enough for me, :D
     

Share This Page