Is there a chance Apple might replace my dropped iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mdhansen5, May 17, 2011.

1. mdhansen5 macrumors member

I'm a High School student and I accidentally dropped my first gen iPad this morning. :( Of course it landed on the corner, and the case is slightly dented, causing the power button to be stuck. Their is very little damage otherwise, but it just causes the power button not to work.

I'm planning to go into the Genius Bar this weekend and see if I can get anything from them. I've heard stories of Apple giving people a one time replacement for an accident. $300 is just too much for me right now, and it's just a small dent.

If anyone has any experience or any advice, let me know. It would be appreciated greatly.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

They certainly aren't obligated to replace it, but who knows... you might get lucky.

3. dmmcgowan macrumors member

I have a friend that has gotten Apple to replace 3 different devices. The first time they did it as a one time courtesy but then the other two times was simply sweet talking them. Give it a shot and be persistent.

4. wasabinuki macrumors newbie

Good luck with this - you might get lucky. The worst case they don't fix it and you still have a dented iPad. Too bad you cannot get insurance for iPads the way you can iPhones.

5. Apple OC macrumors 68040

Apple OC

ask politely ... what have you got to lose?

good luck

6. mdhansen5 thread starter macrumors member

7. ninerfan macrumors regular

You can get full coverage insurance for your iPad through Squaretrade.com. It is very reasonably priced and covers accidents such as dropping and water damage. They are great to deal with. If you use code word SPRING at checkout, you receive a discount. Highly rated company.

8. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

likemyorbs