Is there a .com shortcut for Safari?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thrill5one6, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. thrill5one6 macrumors regular

    thrill5one6

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #1
    Is there a .com or .net shortcut in safari?
    In Firefox it is ctrl enter and shift enter but those aren't working for Safari, I looked around and couldnt find an answer :confused:
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    What happens if you enter macrumors* and press ENTER? Isn't the .com suffix normally appended?

    * if the address hasn't been entered before and is not in the history list
     
  3. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    not putting .com usually results in it being added itself.
     
  4. thrill5one6 thread starter macrumors regular

    thrill5one6

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #4
    For some reason just pressing enter takes me to my internet providers search engine results :confused:
     
  5. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #5
    That’s a DNS thing. Try updating your DNS servers to use Google’s DNS service or OpenDNS.

    For Google:
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4

    For OpenDNS:
    208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220

    To change these, go to System Preferences -> Network -> Airport/Ethernet (depending on your internet connection) -> Advanced -> DNS.

    jW
     
  6. brijazz macrumors 6502

    brijazz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #6
    I'm not aware of such a shortcut for Safari. Obviously, as a switcher from another browser, you'll probably miss the shortcut. IMHO, hitting two keys to save typing four isn't a big time-saver though.
     
  7. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    That only happens if you are using OpenDNS or Google DNS. I don't think it will work without it.
     
  8. Wombert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #8
    Wrong.
     
  9. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    It works here with my ISP's DNS. I'm pretty sure that Safari's doing it.
     
  11. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #11
    When I type a site without .com and hit enter it automatically adds it. Probably Safari.
     
  12. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #12
    To clean this up, here is the rough process:

    0) You type something in the url field and the browser (Safari) parses it to get the server name, in this example "bobsHouseOfFish".

    1) The browser asks the OS if it knows the address of a server "bobsHouseOfFish", the OS looks this up through its methods. On MacOS X this includes things like NetBUI, OpenDirectory, ActiveDirectory, Bonjour, and most importantly for this conversation DNS.

    2) Your DNS servers should not be able to resolve "bobsHouseOfFish", and should respond that it does not know, and then the OS should pass this along to the browser.

    2.1) If you have any "search domains" defined for this interface they should be tried (so if you have "example.com" defined, then it should try DNS for "bobsHouseOfFish.example.com".).

    2.5) Completely counter to the standard some ISPs have started returning a pointer to a search portal that they use to generate more money by advertising to you (or selling you to their advertisers). This practice sort-of works for web browsers, but completely breaks lots of other services. If your ISP starts doing this complain loudly, and threaten to leave them.

    3) Since its first try did not work, the browser is now free to try other things, Safari will, by default in the US, try putting ".com" at the end, and trying the search again. If this again fails it will try also putting "www." in front and ".com" at the end. If this then fails to resolve to an IP it gives up, and tells you.
     
  13. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    Assuming the OP is using a standard network configuration, DNS addresses would be obtained over DHCP, and ones added in System Preferences would be of less priority than the ones provided by the router. So instead, the DNS settings would need to be overridden on the router/gateway itself.
     
  14. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #14
    Nope, not Safari. Mine takes me to my ISPs search engine.
     
  15. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #15
    I'm pretty sure an ISP can bork Safari's "natural" behavior. From home, I can just type the domain name and the ".com" will usually resolve itself. On the road though, many times I'll get a response showing one of those useless search pages from whichever ISP I'm connecting through in the hotel du jour.
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Yeah, some ISPs will "hijack" any invalid domain names and redirect you to another site (usually a search page). This can usually be avoided by changing to different DNS servers (some options were listed further up the thread).
     

Share This Page