Is there a doctor in the house?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by zblaxberg, Dec 12, 2007.

1. zblaxberg Guest

zblaxberg

So for the past two days I've had a sore throat and difficulty swallowing. This really sucks because my last final for the semester is on friday and I'm going home that night. Then I leave on sunday for california. Now I'm no doctor and I'm sure not many of you are but if there's a doctor in the house, I'm trying to see if I really need to go to the health center because antibiotics really mess me up and I need to get better fast.

2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

Well it'll might affect your exam so it would be worthwhile anyway to go to your health centre to get a doctors note to give to your Uni.

3. Keebler macrumors 68030

there are over the counter medicines too. just get non-drowsy although that's just a marketing ploy as they affect everyone differently. get some lozenges too (like halls or likewise).

hang in there.

4. TimJim macrumors 6502a

Hit up Web MD, in the meantime, eat cough drops/lozenges non-stop.

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

6. Iscariot macrumors 68030

Iscariot

Well, if you've got a virus (like a cold), antibiotics aren't going to help anyways.

At this point, you're going to want to boost your immune system as much as possible while minimizing symptoms.

Vitamin C doesn't really boost your immune system while you're sick, because it restricts viral access. However it will help stop new viruses from taking advantage of your weakened state.

Vitamin E increases your "killer cells", which seeks out and eliminates cancer cells, bacteria and germs. Again, not as useful when you're already sick, but it will help contain the problem.

Beta Carotene helps boost T-cells and killer cells.

Garlic boosts production of white cells.