Is there a eGPU that could work with a 5,1 cMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rjtiedeman, Mar 31, 2018.

  1. rjtiedeman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    #1
    Now that OS 10.13.4 supports eGPU it would be a way to have the a start up screen and almost new performance with out switching to an Imac Pro. Also it could be a solution for those of us who don't want to figure out cables, PSUs and home made software patches.
     
  2. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    eGPU relies on Thunderbolt - architecture not compatible with cMP.
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
  4. goMac macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    I don't think eGPU would give you a startup screen on a cMP even if it could be done.

    I'm not totally sure it gives a startup screen on Thunderbolt 3 Macs.
     
  5. itdk92, Mar 31, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2018

    itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #5
    eGPUs have been compatible with the cMP for a long time in the form of Pcie expansion boxes.

    As for what you’re thinking the answer to that is that you of course still need an EFI card to get bootscreen.

    And performance wise, it really depends on which application you are using
     
  6. rjtiedeman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    #6
  7. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    The old Nvidia Quadro Plex 2200d2 works with my 4,1/5,1 MacPro.
    The 2200 version was made I think from 2008 to 2011, and its PCIE Host card, is PCIE 2.0 so matches the MP.
    There is even a dual PCIE Host card that would allow you to connect two of them, and have 4 external GPU with one internal.
    It gives two PCIE slots in the box with a 750watt PSU. The cables in it are 6pin + 8pin for each card.
    After upgrading the cards in it to two K5000 Mac Editions, it has EFI boot screens too.
    Since the Quadro Plex was never sold as a Mac item, it does have a few quirks relating to multiple monitors.
    If you just want the Plex as a compute box, it works perfectly with MacPro 2009-2012.
    It should be ok in slot 1 of a 2008 since its PCIE 2.0.

    It works fine now with the new 10.13.4 and its EFI update.
     
  8. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #8
    ...and note that unlike T-Bolt - it will run at PCIe 2.0 x16
     
  9. Hps1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #9
    ...as long as you are still running 10.9. The limit has been 3 since 10.10 (someone correct me if I'm wrong, it'll make my day).
     
  10. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #10
    Appears to be a 4 GPU limit still.
     
  11. Hps1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017

Share This Page