Is there a generic HDMI out adapter yet?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by WillMak, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #1
    I wasn't able to find one on monoprice. Does anyone know of any others?
     
  2. Bobby.e macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas
    #3
  3. dieburnbot macrumors 6502a

    dieburnbot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #4
  4. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Was it the old one that's not compatible with the iPad 3 or the new one that is? The term "refurb" makes me think it is the old model.
     
  5. dieburnbot macrumors 6502a

    dieburnbot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    The old one is compatible all you have to do is hit dismiss when it pops up the device is not compatible message, it works perfectly. I'll deal with the message since I saved more than 50% over retail and only use it occasionally.
     
  6. noteple macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #7
    Refurb was the older 720p model.
    Older model will work with older OS and even the iPad 3 to an extent.

    Got to watch out for Generic knockoffs.
    Sometimes when iOS revs the video adapters stop working.
     
  7. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Thanks for correcting me. :eek: I really hate to pass along incorrect information.
     
  8. ckiggins macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #9
    Or you could do what someone obviously did at a Best Buy near me. They had an open box of the new HDMI adapter (came out the same time as the iPad 3) available for discount. Upon inspection, the adapter inside had the part number of the OLD adapter!

    Someone bought the new one, put their old first gen one in the box and returned it for full credit!
     
  9. spiderman0616 macrumors 68030

    spiderman0616

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #10
    Mine wasn't. Even if I hit dismiss on the pop up window, I would still get no signal to the TV. Apple exchanged my adapter to a newer one (newer ones have the release buttons on the sides) and it works fine.
     

Share This Page