Is there a hack to disable or control the sleep light on PBs?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by catzilla, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Those things are bright on the AlBooks. The Ti is a little dimmer.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    None that I know of. Which model Powerbook do you have?
     
  3. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
  4. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #4
    It depends what you want to do with it...

    If you want to disable it you can just unplug the light.
     
  5. CountMaxMore macrumors member

    CountMaxMore

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    #5
    While I was replacing the hdd in mine I decided to grabbed some electrical tape and covered the sensors and it seems to do the trick
     
  6. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    All the PB G4s.
     
  7. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    I ripped the wire out of the connector once trying to get the connector off inside my wife's 12" PowerBook.

    That worked for awhile – until I replaced the sleep light. :D
     
  10. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    I should have specified software or firmware hack, and I don't think there is one.
     
  11. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #11
    It's probably possible but nobody has done anything about it...

    Speaking of which... I wonder if there is such a thing for Intel Macs. I would like to disable my Status Indicator Light. Because of the annoying light I always shut down the MBP every night.
     
  12. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #12
    Putting it into Safe Sleep mode will stop the light from flashing.
     
  13. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #13
    Safe sleep mode? What's that?
     
  14. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    It stores the RAM contents on the hard drive and shuts the machine off, meaning the sleep light will also be off. You can enable it with this terminal command:

    sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 1
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Saves the contents of RAM to the hard drive then powers down. Usually only happens on portable Macs when the battery is depleted. The tell tale for safe sleep is a progress bar when you turn the Mac back on as it reloads the data into main memory.

    It's the equivalent of Hibernate on a Windows box, just that Apple got there many years before!
     
  16. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #16

    Actually, I'm not totally sure of that.

    My C.1995 Compaq Armada(4130T, if anyone is interested) could hibernate.

    "Officially" safe sleep only started with the last generation Powerbooks(2005), although I know that it can be retroactively applied to most any computer running 10.4.
     
  17. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #17
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Only computers with a Key Largo drive controller can have Safe Sleep enabled. An easy check it to look at the bus speed of the hard drive interface, if its ATA/100, you have the Key Largo controller.
     
  19. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #19
    That's a fair point, now you've jogged my memory ... older ThinkPads could as well, which is also Enterprise kit like the Armada. Relied on BIOS and special device drivers/utility software from the manufacturer most likely. I never saw it on consumer level kit when I worked in a computer retailer in the late 90s.

    Power management never really got sorted out properly until Window 7 for Enterprise users, usually got left to the hardware manufacturers prior to that.
     
  20. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #20
    So all the Albooks are ATA/100. I'll give it a try, Thanks.
     

Share This Page