Is there a memory configuration chart for new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GodWhomIsMike, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #1
    I remember there was a chart listing what slots to put the ram for every availible configuration. Is there such a chart for the new Mac Pro availible?
     
  2. /\/\ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I think it should be the same.

    Of course with the max value of 32GB. ;)
     
  3. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #3
    The chart is in the users guide, and a simplified version is on the inside of the side cover.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    He means the chart that shows the best configurations per module size per amount that floats around here.
     
  5. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #5
    Oh! heaven forbid anyone should read the manual. I really miss the days when people that owned computers actually knew anything about them, other than how to complain that they don't magically just do what they want them to do.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Yes, it should be the same general layout as the earlier one.

    Rules:
    You have to install in pairs
    Put the largest RAM pair in A1 A2
    Put the second largest RAM pair in B1 B2

    The ideal configuration for speed is 4 of the same modules in A1 A2 B1 B2

    Avoid using slots 3 and 4 if you can - they are slower

    Buy the largest size modules you can afford
    (2 x 2 Gb not 4 x 1 Gb for example)
    This rule trumps the 4 of the same rule. Don't buy smaller RAM just to have a matching 4some.
     
  7. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #7
    MIKE! ! I haven't been on the LegacyGT forums for a long time, are you still hanging out over there? (Still in the Subaru camp?)
     
  8. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #8
    Yes, because the way to get computers out into society and into the hands of the masses is to be elitist and exclusive and require a PhD to even use the thing. And if you haven't memorized all the Unix commands you aren't worthy! While we are at it, I hope you can disassemble your whole car and put it back together again...People shouldn't drive unless they do not just basic maintenance, but full-blown service and repair of their own cars.

    And any software you use, I sure hope you understand the programming language it was written in, so that if you needed to you could recreate it and change features you didn't like...

    That said, I agree with you :)
     
  9. diddykiddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #9
    here's one for the previous revision . . .

    got this off this forum somewhere . .

    should largely hold true for the new MP's

    diddy :)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #10
    Last I checked I do not have a PhD after my name, however I DO know how and make the effort to READ so that I have understanding enough not to look like a jackass. Also while I do known enough about cars, farming and a thousand other topics to understand them that does not mean I engage in doing such things.
     
  11. Topper macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #11
    That is a nice chart, thank you.
    It even shows the holes of the memory board which is nice for orientation.
     

Share This Page