Is there a printer out there for what specs I want? (compact)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Dr.Pants, May 29, 2010.

1. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants

Alright, well, as you may have noticed, I need a printer. Pickup in a few months, when I finally move out and save me eight hours a week of commuting.

So, as for what I want it to do? Print. That's all. Colour is a bonus. I'm a college student, so colour would be a boon for my lab papers, but I can live without it.

Now, the caveat; I'd like me a pretty slim printer. i.e., a box. No trays. Can work for OSX or Windows, I honestly don't care what OS its drivers support.

Oh, and cheap is another bonus, too. :rolleyes:

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Yes, you do. You also want a color printer. You should also name a price range. Cheap is a pejorative, not a price. That said, the least expensive printers that I have seen are sold by HP. These HP DeskJets support both Windows and MacOS X up through MacOS X 10.6.

3. Frosties macrumors 6502a

Frosties

A samsung or brother monochrome laser printer for example is the best for you if you want cheap and good prints but does not need color.

4. RMo macrumors 65816

RMo

I have a Brother HL-2140. It's a compact laser printer, but it's only black and white and it doesn't have duplexing. It has both OS X and Windows drivers (and works perfectly attached to my AirPort Extreme Base Station). The HL-2170, by the way, is nearly the same model with built-in networking. The list price is over $100 but can easily be had for less (Amazon has it for $80 now). It's a great printer.