Is there a way I can use Macros on my MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hokiepokie07, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. hokiepokie07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    I have not figured out how to use them on Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac. I'm not sure if I can use them on Numbers either.

    thanks for any help!
     
  2. exegete77 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #2
    Macros for MS Office are written in VBA (Visual Basic for Applications); no, they are not supported on the Mac version (2008). Yes, on Office 2004, but only what is based on VB 5, not on VB 6 (2000/2002/2003).

    You can write AppleScripts for MS Office, but they cannot be transferred to Windows versions.

    Perhaps if you know the languages, Python, Perl, or Ruby might be cross-platform usable.

    Numbers does not support VBA nor does it support AppleScript.

     
  3. hokiepokie07 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #3
    Could you write one on a Windows Machine and transfer it?
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    No, because VB macros are entirely nonexistent in Office 2008.
     
  5. exegete77 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #5
    There is no cross-platform capability regarding macros. Even if you could get, say a Python script to work on one platform, it would have to be adjusted to work on the other platform.

    Programming for Mac <<< >>> Windows

    ne’er the twain shall meet

     

Share This Page