Is there a way to download regular MSN on a Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Femme, Apr 2, 2010.

1. Femme macrumors regular

Hi, im new to macbooks, etc.
    I was wondering if there is a way to download regular windows live messenger on a mac, instead of dowloading "windows live messenger for mac"?

2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

iLog.Genius

They're both the same thing. The "for Mac" just means it's the Mac version of Windows Live Messenger.

3. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

acfusion29

Oh.. no they really aren't. The one on Windows is much more enhanced

But to the OP, sorry you can't.

4. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

iLog.Genius

I know that but the basis of the application, it's the same thing without getting too technical with what version has and which version lacks...

5. 1ofthedavids macrumors regular

Gentlemen, please. It is 100% possible to download the pc version of Windows Live Messenger on a Mac. The problem is actually doing anything with the .exe after it downloads..... :cool:

6. gorn macrumors member

If you're looking for video chat Mercury Messenger supports it on Mac over MSN: http://mercury.im/ But it's definitely not the actual windows live messenger.

7. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

What about running it in a VM using something like VMware or parallels? Seems like a pretty workable solution to me.

8. Femme thread starter macrumors regular

if anyone can, please help! the messenger for mac bores me to death:mad:

9. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

Have you tried this suggestion made just above your post?

10. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

Gabriel GR

You need to install it in a virtual machine.

Indeed the windows live messenger is much superior than the mac equivalent which is unstable, lacks some features and has much slower file transfer speeds.

11. Z06jerry macrumors regular

12. Femme thread starter macrumors regular

i might be just stupid but WHAT is VM?

13. PlaceofDis macrumors Core