Is there a way to show only First Name?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by c073186, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. c073186 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    When I get a call from someone, it shows their first and last names. Is there a way to make it so that only the first name shows... or can I set a nickname to show up instead...? (i.e. Mom instead of First Last)?
     
  2. deimos256 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #2
    a nickname feature would be nice for contacts, but i just entered all of mine like i would with a basic phone IE first names or nicknames only, since thats how im used to finding them
     
  3. c073186 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    Oh... I would have done that, except I sync mine with my computer and I want the first and last names on my computer...
     
  4. thechad003 macrumors newbie

    thechad003

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    you can have them organized by first name in your phonebook i believe
     
  5. jawad7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    #5
    speaking of contacts. i just got my iPhone 3G and love it.

    One thing i want to do is change the order of phone number that appear in people's contacts. For example, some contacts of mine have more than one phone number and i would like certain numbers to appear at the top of the contact to other. Like for my sister - her work phone number is top and the number i most frequently use is like 3rd down.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5C1 Safari/525.20)

    put the number you want in favourites. Quick access to the numbers you most use
     
  7. macbookhamburg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #7
    if you are on a mac you could create a group of new contacts and choose that only that group is synced to the phone it might take a little bit more organizing but if you think it´s worth it ...
    i don´t know if that works with a pc too
     

Share This Page