Is there a way to switch on your iMac wirelessly?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hleewell, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. hleewell macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #1
    Is there a way to switch on your iMac wirelessly? Is there an iPhone or iPad app that could do this? From a sleep sate to login page? Is there any way you could boot your iMac wirelessly from "a complete shutdown" state?

    I heard there is a guy who could do this with his cellphone and I remember this is before iPhone or App Store hits the market.

    I know this is a bit juvenile and there is nothing wrong with using physical keyboard to log in. But I am just curious and I want to prove wrong the guy who said it could be done.

    Thanks for any tip.
     
  2. BSoares macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I've done it. App is iShutdown.

    You have to configure your router to forward wake on LAN packets and also configure the iMac to wake when it gets those packets. I had to give mine a static IP too. What I didn't like was that the iMac would wake up and go back to sleep maybe once every couple of hours (Apple says this is normal if you enable WOL). So I ended up turning it off and getting rid of iShutdown.

    If you need it then it can be useful. I had done it just because it's cool :)
     
  3. hleewell thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #3
    Yes, I heard you can do that with an iPhone. Is there any way you could do it w/ a regular cellphone?
     
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    Can u just VNC into it, that would probably wake it up.
     
  5. rever3nce macrumors 6502a

    rever3nce

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #5
    I have been looking for this app FOREVER! haha thanks a million. :D
     
  6. BSoares macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Not sure... In theory if it can send WOL packets it may work, especially if you know the iMac's IP but I can't tell for sure.

    Besides, why would anyone want a phone that is not an iPhone? LOL, just kidding...
     
  7. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #7
    From a hard shutdown?

    I made a remote switch for a basement computer to be activated via remote. Just hard wire a relay + cellphone on silent (relay powered by vibrate motor) and don't give that phone # to anyone! ;)

    I did a similar thing in the late 90s with a remote starter and cheapo pager inside my car. Loved it, land @ airport, call the car, then toasty ride was waiting. (along with freaked out parking lot attendants on occasion) :D
     
  8. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #8
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1401106

    It is impossible to use a basic T9 phone to power on a computer that is 100% completely shutdown.
     

Share This Page