Is there a working fix to the "won't wake from sleep issue?"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kurenaiz, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. kurenaiz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    I tried turning safesleep on using terminal and disable network on istat pro, but still no luck.

    My machine is the new unibody macbook pro 2.4ghz

    I look up the forum and also google through many sites, but still can't find a working fix for the issues.

    Anybody else experiences the same problem?
     
  2. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    What issue are you having, mine wakes just fine?
     
  3. Azagar macrumors member

    Azagar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Oddly I can replicate something like this by allowing bluetooth to wake from sleep. If I close the lid on my mbp then click the bluetooth keyboard or mouse, it does wake it but then reverts back to sleep because the lid is closed. At this point if I open the lid, my mbp will not wake up from sleep and have to hold down the power button to turn it back on. Of course all I did was turn off the option for bluetooth to wake up this computer.
     
  4. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #4
    My macbook pro just can't wake up from sleep.

    Once I open the lid, the screen remains black.

    I found that this was an issue in the previous gen macbook pro when I search the forum.

    So I'm wondering if there is actually a working fix now
     
  5. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #5
    it is not a known issue. i would want to isolate whether it is software or hardware. i would do this by installing a fresh copy of os x and testing. you can install on a portable hard drive or wherever.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  7. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #7
    dont move your laptop before it is done going into standby. this is the fix that has been working just fine for me.
     
  8. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #8
    I did, it didn't help

    What should I do? It's not a problem that I can replicate, but it occurs very often, like more than 3 times a day.
     
  9. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #9
    The problem occurs even when I don't move my machine at all.
     
  10. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #10
    well, if you want to explore the software options, why not list any addons you have installed that are running. any applications that might install additional kexts, etc...

    do you have a bootcamp partition? if so, does sleep work in windows?
     
  11. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #11
    Here are my programs:

    Office for mac, iwork 08, spore, vlc, mplayer, niceplayer, adium, messenger for mac, istat pro, lux deluxe, vuze

    I have vista on bootcamp, but rarely use it. So I don't know if it can sleep.
     
  12. augie93 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #12
    I called Apple support, and they suggested, among other things (and the one that worked for me!):

    Turn off computer, unplug from power + remove battery.
    Push and hold the power button. It won't turn on, but it resets/drains some capacitor or something.

    So far, it hasn't been a problem since.
     
  13. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #13
    all pretty benign software there.

    any external peripherals? monitor, mouse, keyboard, flash drive, external drive? any active bluetooth devices? (phone for example)

    wireless could also be tricky.

    difficult for you to test when it's sporadic but testing with wifi off and either in vista or a fresh os x install will eliminate options.

     
  14. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #14
    can also try resetting the SMC just for kicks. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1411

     
  15. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #15
    Does it still happen after completely removing Windows?
     
  16. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #16
    the only thing that was left on before I close the lid is the wifi connection.

    I don't have other peripherals.
     
  17. melchior macrumors 65816

    melchior

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #17
    maybe try disabling bluetooth just in case?
     
  18. revoked macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #18
    just curious-
    Do you have it set so that you need to log in every time the computer wakes up? I've noticed that problem only with that setting on.
     
  19. kurenaiz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #19
    yes, currently I set it so I need to type in my password.

    But with or without this setting, the problem persists
     
  20. revoked macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #20
    Try turning the setting off and then restarting. Leave the setting off and see if the problem persists.
    I'm almost certain it's a bug with that setting on.
     
  21. jackaz127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #21
    I have the 2.53 MBP unibody and I have exactly the same problem, i found no way to solve it. I resetted pram/nvram but it didn't work.:(

    Augie's procedure may be the solution? I have never read of that procedure so I'm a little scared. is there a link of that on the official website?:)
     
  22. sal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #22
    melchior posted the apple support article
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1411
     
  23. jackaz127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #23
    god how fool i am, i didn't see!!!

    i tried.. keep my fingers crossed hoping this will be the solution. :(

    edit: it didn't work! :(
    i'll ask for an exchange or something like that as soon as my TM external drive will arrive.
     

Share This Page