is there alt, crtl delete task manager for mac os?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dg45, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. dg45 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #1
    i just bought my firsst mac.

    is there a task manager like in windows where you press alt+ctrl+delete for mac os?
    thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Its in the Utilities folder and its called Activity Monitor.
     
  4. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    If you are looking for the force quit application, you can also hit the command+option+escape.
     
  5. dg45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #5
    thanks to everyone

    just what i was looking for activity moniter and command+option+escape.
    thanks

    alos what are the root files under user in the activity moniter?
     
  6. tripletaker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    It's processes that are run as a Super Administrator - or processes that are system wide that need access privileges. There's more on Superuser on Wiki.
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
  8. dg45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Boston MA
  9. dg45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #10
    thanks.

    i just bought this PB from someone and under user in activitymoniter is the person name?
    say under processor name is SAFARI and under user is DAVE.
    how do i get my name there?

    is there anything else i shoud know that is important about activity moniter?
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    That's the name of the account that he set up originally. Do you have the original DVDs/CDs that came with the PowerBook? If so, then you may want to wipe the drive and reload the OS from the discs. At that point you can set up your own account.
     
  11. dg45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #12
    i didnt get no cds.

    is there a way to go to settings and change it?

    thanks
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    Its not straightforward: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1428.

    I would say for safety sake to buy a copy of Panther (10.3), Tiger (10.4) or Leopard (10.5), depending on the type of PowerBook you have, off of eBay. It will come in handy down the road.
     

Share This Page