Is there any effective method to check the MBA's screen?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by buddyforone, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. buddyforone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    Hello guys,

    I am intend to buy a mba as my first macbook. In fact I am attracted by MBA for a long time and waiting for this upgrade, however the upgrade is not very impressive.

    I have followed some thread in this board and I know lines on the screen troubles a lot.

    Can anyone tell me how to select a good screen when buy?

    How to check there is line or not? Set a white wallpaper?

    Thanks.
     
  2. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #2
    No way to select a good screen before purchase. No indication in the packaging as to which display panel is in the unit.

    White background to see it, full brightness.
     
  3. buddyforone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #3
    Thank you very much.
     
  4. GadgetGeek407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #4
    everyone types their screen manf number and id or whatever where can i find that?
     
  5. GadgetGeek407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #5
    Ok just saw my 1.6 120gb is 09c90 and manf date is c2486d00 and manf is 610, now what does all this mean? I do see lines they are horizontal almost in a perfect pattern from top to bottom , best way to describe it is it looks like a bunch of perfect lined finger prints all over, is that the lines you all speak of here? by any chance is this display the reason I feel the ical red icon looks like such a dull red where as on my mac mini its a nicer bright red or am i being to paranoid?

    Considering this has been sitting brand new under my bed since february and i just opened it n turned it on today, since i had an older one I was using that I sold last week, would they replace in store for new one or Id have to go through applecare? in either case would they just replace display or give me a whole new unit?
    thanks guys

    i did screen capture dont know if that will allow you guys to see but here and tell me what u think
    http://img32.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=picture1nbi.png

    but I also just took a picture from my cam cuz it looks like the screen capture isn't showing it on my dell anyways
    http://img31.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=img0025v.jpg

    in any case im NOT trying to get something for nothing ill pay a difference if i have to or whatever else....I am mad at nobody but myself that i didnt turn this on sooner cause i DO see the lines i need confirmation from you guys though...but jeez even if the new one has lines i dont want it lol....I really didn't think the line issue was THIS widespread ....wow iv always known apple to be a very meticulous company why are they not fixing this? I finally searched this forum and googled it and DAMN im pissed off at myself first than at apple
     

Share This Page