Is there any reason NOT to use Filevault 2 in Lion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Spacemarine, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Spacemarine macrumors newbie

A few weeks ago, I got my new MBA, 11", 2GB Ram, 64 GB Toshiba SSD.

I've just measued the difference in SSD speed between the unencrypted and the encrypted system. Due to the encryption, my SSD gets about 20% slower. (180 MB/s vs. 220 MB/s)

Since the new Intel Core I processors support the AES-NI, the CPU usage during encryption is negligible. (The Truecrypt benchmark shows over 800 MB/s of AES in Ram)

This means: All the benefits of encryption come pretty much for free.
    Now just imagine you loose your MBA or it gets stolen. The thief can read all of your emails, look at all your pictures on your MBA. He can also put your emails and pictures onto the web together with you full name. Maybe he can also log into your facebook-account and write messages to your friends under your name. Does this sound like something you would like?

So my question is: Why is not everyone using encryption? What reasons do you have to keep it turned off?

2. KPOM macrumors G5

I encrypted mine but one reason not to would be if you are sharing the drive/partition with another OS (e.g. OS X 10.6 or Windows 7) that does not support encryption. Boot Camp adds drivers to Windows to let it read HFS+ partitions, but not encrypted ones.

3. misterneums macrumors 6502

I hear Time Machine backups from the encrypted take FOREVER

4. X5-452 macrumors 6502

X5-452

What's the average speed for a hard disk? I haven't turned in on simply because I remember what a nightmare it was when I enabled it while using Leopard on my '06 MacBook.

5. KPOM macrumors G5

A decent non-RAID hard disk might put out about 1/3 of the numbers of an encrypted SSD. If you are switching from a HDD model, don't worry about the impact on speed. The SSD will still blow it away.

6. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

Cynicalone

How does it change the login?