Is there any way to backup jailbroken apps?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by danetello, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. danetello macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    There is a fault on my iPhone and I was planning on going to the apple store for a repair/exchange. Its jailbroken at the moment, so obviously I will restore it before I go. But is there any way I can back up all my jailbroken apps and settings, so that when I get the replacement I don't have to do everything manually again?
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    pkgbackup
     
  3. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #3
    Yup.. Can also backup AppStore app data !!
     
  4. actenniskrazy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #4
    Cydia PkgBackup Issue

    I just installed pkgbackup and for whatever reason, it says i have no packages available to be backed up. (i.e. "Selected 0 of 0"). I have around 30 different packages from cydia so i am not sure why this is happening.

    Does anyone know how to fix this issue?
     
  5. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #5
    did you tap the little refresh icon on the bottom left?
     
  6. actenniskrazy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #6
    ya, i did that ... but it tries to load previous backups.. then gives me a warning saying "your previous backup data doesn't exist. would you like to use any available device backup?"

    i have clicked yes and it takes me to a page where there are no device backups...b/c i have never backed up..

    I have clicked no and then nothing happens..

    I have tried to use the dropbox option and the address book option - didn't seem to change anything.
     
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    sounds like your on the view backup page, tap view restore then tap the refresh arrow
     
  8. actenniskrazy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #8
    I have also tried hitting refresh on the restore tab. it is giving me the same issues..

    * see attachments *

    i also tried removing and installing again (but it didn't delete my user data b/c it still had me signed in to dropbox). still the same issue.

    btw thanks for the help.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #9
    Whats the version? Did u buy it? Cracked versions don't work properly
     
  10. ckurt25 macrumors 6502a

    ckurt25

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #10
    Go into the settings for it, and set the "scan packages on startup" & "scan applications on startup" to On then hit accept changes in the bottom right. See if that does the trick. Maybe kill the app, respring and fire it back up to see if that does it.

    Also, don't hit cancel when it's scanning the packages.
     
  11. actenniskrazy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #11
    thanks for the answers.. this worked perfectly.. i turned both those settings on, then did a hard reset just to make sure everything refreshed properly.. and it worked.

    appreciate the answers guys.
     
  12. polzii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #12
    AppBackup : backup savegame/settings data for appstore apps
    xBackup : supposedly similar to PkgBackup
     

Share This Page