Is there any way to remotely "wake up" my iMac.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JW008, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. JW008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    I've been playing with Telekinesis (iPhone Remote) and I must say that it is a ridiculously awesome program.

    What I was wondering is if there was any way to remotely wake my iMac from "sleep" or even power it on? I would love to be able to access my files from anywhere over my iPhone---but really don't want to leave my iMac on all the time.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    You could put it to sleep and use the Apple Remote to wake it.
     
  3. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    It's actually pretty easy to do this. Here are the basic steps:

    • In System Preferences -> Energy Saver -> Options, check the box that says Wake for Ethernet network administrator access
    • Make sure the computer is connected to the network via ethernet (Airport doesn't work)
    • In System Preferences -> Network -> Show: Built-in Ethernet -> Ethernet tab, write down the Ethernet ID
    • Go to your router's config page and configure it to forward TCP and UDP port 9 to port 9 of your Mac's internal IP address
    • Go to http://www.dslreports.com/wakeup and enter: your external IP address (if you don't know it, go to http://whatismyip.com from the Mac first) and the noted Ethernet ID without colons

    That's pretty much it. I just tested it and it worked for me!
     
  4. JW008 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Thanks for the tips! Unfortunately I have to be connected via my Airport (the router is in another room from where I use the computer--plus I have multiple Macs hooked up to the network). I'm guessing there's no way to do it wirelessly. :(

    Thanks anyway.
     
  5. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, this is about the closest thing that works for me, thanks!
     
  6. deftdrummer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #6
    Well since you have an airport express, its actually supposed to be much easier for you. With OS X Snow Leopard that is. SL now has built in remote wake so you can do exactly that, but only if you have an airport base station.
     
  7. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    If your router is handling DHCP it's still talking to the Airport so the port forwarding trick suggested by Royale should still work. Just make sure to forward port 9 to the specific IP of the Mac you want to wake. You'll probably need to set that one up with a static IP.
     

Share This Page