Is there any way to reset smc from the logic board?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RiverMan420, Apr 17, 2014.

  1. RiverMan420, Apr 17, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2014

    RiverMan420 macrumors newbie

    RiverMan420

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    I am working on mostly 820-2936 boards and so far have not found a way to reset the SMC without connecting the keyboard and going through the normal SMC reset procedure
     
  2. triplelucky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
  3. RiverMan420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    RiverMan420

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Alabama
    #3
    Thanks! I kept seeing that on the schematics but was not sure how to use it. It looks like it's already connected to ground (pin 4 of U5010 is Smc_manual_rst_l and is already connected to pin 2 which is ground)

    How do I do that?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Okay... I will likely never need to know this, but you two have now got me curious. :D What the heck is "Smc_manual_rst_l" ??
     
  5. triplelucky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    #5
    R5001 is omitted on the board. Its pad positions, when jumped bring SMC_MANUAL_RST_L , low.
     
  6. RiverMan420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    RiverMan420

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    Ahhhhh! I never looked to see if it was there... Just saw it in the schematics. Thank you very very much for your help!

    ----------

    For some reason I never saw where it says "Omit" right above R5001 lol

    I guess I try my best to make this harder than it should be
     

Share This Page