Is there any way to run a windows APP on MAC?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hermitman, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. hermitman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #1
    I got a software which have the same function as SKYPE, and it only provide the client soft for WIN, I think if I can run Cider to simulate the games, then we can run this APP too.

    Can I do that? If I can,How????
     
  2. oli2140 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #2
    Look up VMware Fusion, Parallels and Bootcamp in google!
     
  3. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #3
    Apple's bootcamp allows you to partition your existing Intel Mac hard drive and then install Windows on the second partition. You can access Windows by booting directly to that partition and running the machine as a PC or you can get virtualization software such as Parallels or VMware and access the partition through a Mac window and have access to both OSes.

    It comes down to what you want to spend and how critical the tasks are. My needs are fairly low as I run a few legacy apps in XP and I just launch Parallels rather than rebooting.

    So... if you just want to run windows, use bootcamp assistant (free in your application>utility folder) and have a licensed copy of your Windows OS (XP has to be service pack 2 or better I believe)
     
  4. hermitman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #4
    Yeah, that works, but I only need WINDOWS to run this APP, so I think there maybe easier way to run this APP than to set a Windows Environment for just one software^_^
     
  5. Babybandit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
  6. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #6
    If you don't have or want windows on the Mac, Crossover is the way to go.
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    Just curious, what app is this? That will help us determine which solution might prove the most fruitful. Is it a game? Graphic design? office suite? etc...
     
  8. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #8
    Try crossover. It is based of off the open-source Wine project for Linux, Unix, etc. It allows you to run the software without a version of windows, however, it may not be flawless, especially for something that is bound to be finicky like Skype.
    Your best bet is to do parallels/vmware if you want it to for sure work. Also, if you "got" this software, why don't you just "get" a software that works on Mac?

    Read the original post.
     
  9. hermitman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #9
    Well that is a VOIP software, a chinese software. I don't know if it can be crossover.
    ^_^
    I check everywhere and can't find the mac version for it>_<b
     
  10. Babybandit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #10
    Name of Software? Plus, it wouldn't be a bad thing to try. I can help you try it if you want :D
     
  11. munkery macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #11
    A free alternative to parallels/vmware is virtualbox.

    Also, the mac version of wine (what crossover is based on) is called darwine.
     
  12. QueenZ macrumors 6502

    QueenZ

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #12
    I don't think it's possible if you don't have windows and you don't want to buy it..
     
  13. chilipie macrumors 6502a

    chilipie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Englandshire
    #13
    Have you actually read any of the replies? It might work in Crossover, in which case the OP doesn't need a copy of Windows.
     
  14. QueenZ macrumors 6502

    QueenZ

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #14
    CrossOver is intended for Intel Mac OS X machines.
    Does OP has intel machine?
     
  15. hermitman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #15
  16. hermitman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #16
    I put the link on. Can you help try to run that?
    Thank you~
     

Share This Page