is there anyone using RAID0 to run Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by bryanwongxin, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. bryanwongxin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #1
    i used two samsung 840 pro to build RAID0 which runs great under Mavericks.
    The read/write speed can be 700mb/700mb,but after i install yosemite, the speed is only 100mb/150mb

    Is it a bug or i missed something?

    Sorry for my english is not very well for i am from China.

    Thanks again
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. bryanwongxin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #3


    yes i enabled the trim
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    That's sounds strange. I didn't install 10.10 yet, too many trouble at this moment. However, may I know which Mac you are using? And how you connect the SSD? (e.g. Mac mini, native SATA port? or Mac Pro, on a PCIe card?). Is it a software RAID or hardware RAID?
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Please don't be so critical about your English speaking/typing ability. Aside from a few punctuation mistakes I am not able to find any faults with it. I find it an embarrassment for as an American that anytime a foreigner apologizes for their poor English and it is better than many if not most Americans. :eek:
     
  6. bryanwongxin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #6
    MacBook Pro MD102
    I add memory to 8*2 and change the HDD to 840 pro and the optical drive to 840 pro which i think it's native SATA. And it's a software RAID created in Disk Utility.

    But no matter how bad the RAID0 performance is in 10.10, it runs great in 10.9

    ----------


    I am afraid my word may confuse you...
     
  7. Manic Harmonic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #7
    Have you compared the performance to 10.9 without running in raid0? I don't think I've seen anyone complaining about ssd speeds in 10.10, but it's possible Apple is using "debug" versions of the raid kext that could be slowing things down... Or something like that.
     
  8. bryanwongxin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #8
    i ran 10.9 without raid0,the speed is normal,as i remember it's 300mb/s.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    The MD102 model has SATA 3, The 840 pro should run much faster than 300MB/s (e.g. 500MB/s) on both read and write.

    May I know how you enable TRIM in 10.10?

    And how's the 840 pro non-RAID performance under 10.10?
     
  10. tonyunreal macrumors regular

    tonyunreal

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #10
    I'm running RAID 0 with two stock 500gb HDD (not sure about the brand and model) on my 2011 Mac mini Server, performance seemed normal to me, both in usage and in XBench results.
     
  11. bryanwongxin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #11
    hi,guys

    i spent whole night to figure out what's the problem is...

    finally, i found my second SSD went wrong...

    thanks again~~
     
  12. bryanwongxin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #12
    hi guys~
    I am coming again
    This time I run RAID0 on El Capitan with two Toshiba 256 SSD,it works great,the write/read speed can reach 800m/s~
     
  13. Tucom, Jul 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015

    Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #13
    I read it wasn't possible to enable TRIM on a RAID 0 array? With the new trimforce enable command, is it possible to enable TRIM on RAID 0 under Yosemite with two MX100 Crucial 256GB SSD's?

    EDIT - According to this, using Apple's software RAID it isn't possible to use TRIM, and I'll be using Disk Utility to build the RAID -

    Read Temptin's post.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...or-third-party-ssd-hard-drives.1896572/page-5
     

Share This Page