is there anyone without Interface lag ? (spaces, Mission Control)cMP 4.1/5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ctrlzone, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. ctrlzone macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    #1
    mp 4.1 w3690 24GB gtx 970 4GB samsung 840 evo 256 hitachi 2TB
    mission control stutter, resize windows choppy, scrolling stutter
    i really tried everything, im having this issue now for years and just can't stand it any more.
    im thinking this is just a OS issue and it wont get fixed at all.

    AHT (the long ) no result

    i tried different GPUs gt 120, flashed hd 6850, gtx 970 in different slots.
    different OS lion till sierra, as well as fresh installs without internet connection and without apple id inserted.
    removed all other hardware,
    detached all devices, different monitors, different cables, different mouses/ trackpads/keyboards
    different hard drives/SSD, tried with original ram...

    smc reset, pram reset and stuff all the time...
    different Os tweaks, contrast/transparency/spaces windowserver/chaches.......and so on
    there are no cpu or ram spikes at all, i have great performance everywhere besides the interface which is driving me crazy to be honest.

    i see lots of people have this issue all over the place and on all macs from books to mac pros

    so is there anyone that has a smooth mission control, space swiping, multi monitor setup that works?

    im now really at the point of total desperation:(
     
  2. Filin Contributor

    Filin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Ukraine
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Yeah, I think we need a video to know your definition of shutter / choppy.

    My experience shows that GPU, number of monitor, and the setting in system preference make the difference.

    Interestingly, my stock Apple 4870 do extremely well on system UI and scrolling, very smooth. However, I didn't use that card for more than 2 years now. Not sure how it perform in the new OS like Sierra.

    My 7950 / R9 280 is OK now with Sierra, but surprisingly the UI is not as smooth as the 4870 in Mavericks. And also not very smooth in Yosemite / El Capitan if compare to how the 4870 can do in Mavericks or before.

    Multi monitor won't cause issue to me straight away. However, if I enable "Displays have separate Spaces" in mission control as well, then the UI performance can be affected significantly.

    Since you mention about multi monitor. I suggest you check the "separate spaces" setting first.

    Also, the UI performance may be affected if one of the monitors is 4K. Don't know why, but even the non 4K monitor's UI performance can be affected.
     
  4. ctrlzone thread starter macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    #4
    i tried to make a video but its not recognizable there. iPad 3 iPhone 4...
    i had 3 monitors running 2 x full hd, 1 1280 x 1024,
    the more monitors, the more windows open, the more choppy all becomes, while most animations are mostly smooth sometimes it lags horrible.
    especially if i move from space to space the first time, after that it becomes smooth.
    if i connect my ipad as 4th monitor over duet display everything is choppy to the extreme like 4 fps...

    i noticed after a pram reset everything went better even with 4 monitors over 2 gpus and 1 duet display.
    as soon as i fiddle arround in spaces settings/transparency the problem returns.

    i did a clean sierra install on a wiped SSD, in all this years i never noticed any performance differences between a clean OSX install and an upgrade so this is a myth for me now and not worth to go thru all the hassle of a clean install.

    if i click on windowserver process till kernel task in activity monitor it shows 78 GB virtual memory, is that normal?
     
  5. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #5
    I experience this all the time on two of my monitors. I experience this on Windows 10 as well. However, I never experience it when I connect to a 144hz display. The lag is SO HORRIBLE with my Apple display, it is almost pointless to use it. Connect to a 144hz display and I never see the lag. Weird.
     
  6. Gazember macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #6
    I am running a 5,1 cMP with Sierra 10.12.4, SSD, and a mac flashed HD7950. It is as smooth as it has ever been. And with the 10.3.3 update of FCP X my BruceX went from 59s to 31s. But I just have one HD monitor hooked up to the DVI port.
     
  7. ctrlzone thread starter macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    #7
    thats interesting and YES ITS HORRIBLE :(
    which gpu are you using and what kinda cable for the standard monitor and the 144hz one?
    gonna try a 144hz monitor asap!
    so this happens on windows 10 as well ? but win on the same mac?
    1 monitor works mostly fluid as long as i use only 1 window,
    if you have lets say 3 safari windows open with about 10 tabs each, and some Applications like logic pro, finalcut...
    all full screen and on the desktop some finder windows and other stuff, is it still fluid ?
     
  8. Thessman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    GR
  9. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #9
    It actually happened with Windows 10 on my custom PC built in 2015 too. My mac has a NVIDIA GTX 980 and my PC has a NVIDIA GTX 1080.

    I use DisplayPort for all of my connections.

    I do not experience any lag now that I have those 144 Hz monitors. I cannot stand using the Apple display anymore, it is SO LAGGY.
     
  10. ctrlzone thread starter macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    #10
    thats really interesting, so what resolution are those 144 hz monitors ? or maybe could you post the model? non ips ?
     
  11. xWhiplash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #11
    2560x1440 resolution. The out of box color isn't very good. So I wouldn't recommend them if you need great color (photography). Calibrating it is good enough for my work.

    It is the Dell 2716DG. Non IPS.
     

Share This Page