Is there anyway to trim Adobe CS3 fat

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by daneoni, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    As we all know the CS apps are quite meaty, i was wondering if there's anyway to strip the PPC code on Adobe CS3 apps and remove unnecessary languages to save space. I mean there are apps here that over 1GB...for one app
     
  2. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    Will they all work without messing up the software in one way or another. Has anyone used this successfully with Adobe CS products?
     
  3. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Trim the fat worked very well for all my CS3 apps but broke Acrobat.
     
  4. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #6
    XSlimmer will not work with CS3 - it is blacklisted.
     
  5. SHIFTLife macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    Isn't it just Acrobat that's blacklisted? I can't speak to whether the rest of CS3 is, I've got CS4 installed. However, XSlimmer worked on everything in CS4 with the exception of Acrobat and a few plugins.
     
  6. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I wouldn't try it, I'm pretty sure that some of them perform integrity checks on themselves. Like a poster above said, they're blacklisted by Xslimmer, so it will probably break it.
     
  7. MacGeekPro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Just have a poke around in the program files... Be careful though, Updates will tell Adobe about what your doing..

    Little Snitch.app ftw.

    Yoshi
     
  8. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #10
    I tried trimthefat and lets just say it had an opposite effect. I tried to trim AfterEffects and it jumped from 800+mb to 1.2GB!!

    Yes it made the file BIGGER

    *Goes to look for CS3 CDs for a re-install*
     

Share This Page