Is there some sort of "Print screen" on the keyboard?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Captain Planet, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. Captain Planet macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Like with a PC, there's a Print Screen button that takes a screenshot of your...screen, do iMacs have something like that?
     
  2. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
  3. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    there is a program called 'Grab'. Applications + Utilities + Grab
    or  + Shift + 3
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #5
    I thought command was the alt key... god damn... either way

    :apple: key
     
  5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Actually, it's "command"

    Command + Shift + 3

    (if we want to get all technical about it)
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #7
    meh its 3am... i'm allowed to make mistakes :p *runs away*
     
  7. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #8
    Don't forget: CMND + SHFT + 4

    This gives you crosshairs so you can select what you want, instead of getting the whole screen. (For instance, just a website, or chat box, etc)
     
  8. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    And don't forget, you can then hit the SPACEBAR and the crosshairs change to a mini camera, which will then help in taking screenshots of particular windows, as you move the mouse around the screen, enjoy!

    *Hitting SPACEBAR again will take you back to the crosshairs.
     
  9. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #10
    touché

    BTW, it automatically puts the file on the desktop as a png file. If you need something else, you can always double click to open in preview and save as something else.
     
  10. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #11
    You can also use TinkerTool to change the default screenshot file type to .jpg.

    Pretty cool. I just found out about this not too long ago.
     

Share This Page