Is there something wrong with my RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rawrmac, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. rawrmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    hey there. I don't know much about computers but this has been bothering me.
    I downloaded iStat the other day and this is what it tells me about my memory:

    Wired:431MB
    Active:1.74MB
    Inactive:239 MB
    Free:1.34GB

    I have 4 GBs of ram, this is usually the stats that iStat gives me. Is this normal? sorry if this is a dumb question. i dont know much about computers and I was just wondering.
     
  2. vorkorsigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. rawrmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Mine adds up to the correct total using iStat widget 0 what s=does Activity Monitor show for CPU usage ?
     
  5. vorkorsigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    You didn't say which machine you have, an old MB or one of the late 2008 machines will always or could use system memory for their GPU. If you have an early 2008 MBP then the answer is not, they have their own memory for the GPU but the new ones have 2 GPUs. The slow one uses system memory I think I saw but dedicated for the 9600. The Memory stats you gave have 250Mb missing which sounds like what would be taken if you were using the slower GPU.

    Try switching to the faster one and see if you get it back?
     

Share This Page