Is there warranty on the SuperDrive??

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by still in school, May 13, 2009.

  1. still in school macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #1
    My MBA SuperDrive is bad. I purchased it on eBay so I have no idea if it's still under warranty or not. Do you guys think the SuperDrive is under warranty through my MBA's one year warranty?
     
  2. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #2
    Why don't you check with Apple and let us know? :D
     
  3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3
  4. still in school thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #4
    I've tried that earlier, and it said my serial number was invalid
     
  5. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    Yes, it's a peripheral and should be covered with your MBA's warranty.

    I had an Airport Extreme Base Station that went bad. It was over a year old. The "Genius" said it wasn't covered with the AppleCare on my Mac. I went home and printed out the statement about AppleCare on Apple.com. It clearly states that all peripherals used with your Mac are covered by your Mac's AppleCare. So, first year is covered by itself, will be covered longer if your MBA has AppleCare.

    Nobody will tell you at an Apple store this is true. I had to show the manager online as he didn't believe what I printed was the truth.

    Here is the page...
    http://www.apple.com/support/products/proplan.html

    The AppleCare Protection Plan covers your Mac, as well as an AirPort Extreme Card, an AirPort Express or AirPort Extreme Base Station, Time Capsule, MacBook Air SuperDrive, and Apple RAM used with your Mac. Mac mini, Mac Pro, and MacBook Pro customers may also register one Apple display for coverage, provided that the Mac and the display are purchased together.

    There you go.
     
  6. still in school thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #6
    Thanks Scottsdale, I knew I remember seeing that somewhere. I still don't understand why Apple's employees give their customers a hard time.

    Before I saw your post, I went off and purchased a new SuperDrive from BestBuy. As soon as I got home I opened it up and used it under OSX, everything was fine, but once I used bootcamp and went into Vista, the drive no longer worked!

    What I did was ended up opening both SuperDrives and swapped out the drives. I used the new/good drive with my old case and board. Now it works under both operating systems! Anyone have a clue as to why my old SuperDrive was able to work in both operating systems?
     

Share This Page