Is this 4GB memory kit the right one for new White MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by FieryFurnace, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #1
    Hi,

    I will get my new White MacBook next week. :D
    I want to upgrade the memory to its maximum 4GB - and I found this offer from frys.com:
    http://shop3.frys.com/product/5503990

    Is this memory compatible with my MacBook?
    This kit doesn't show up on crucial.com when using their search for compatible memory for the MacBook.

    Thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP5
    Yup
     
  3. hogfaninga macrumors 65816

    hogfaninga

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Chestnut Tree Cafe
    #3
    I got that exact one from Fry's. Crucial is a great brand. I got it for $40 and that was a good deal. $25 is insane. Great find.

    It works awesome in my black Macbook.
     
  4. jshelton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #4
    It works awesome in my black Macbook.

    25 bones?!?!? :eek: That is crazy. I might as well order a set. All I use mine for is internet, email, word processing, downloads, etc. No gaming at all. Will I be able to tell a difference switching to 4GB from 2GB?
     
  5. rd261 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #5
    I use mine mostly for browsing and editing documents, but at 25 bucks its very hard to resist. I think I'll get it. Is Crucial a reliable brand?
     
  6. hogfaninga macrumors 65816

    hogfaninga

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Chestnut Tree Cafe
    #6
    One of the best.
     
  7. rd261 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
  8. jshelton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #8
    Just ordered mine as well. :D

    I know replacing the RAM is very simple on Macbooks, but is ESD an issue.
    Should I find a wrist (ground) strap before touching the memory?
     
  9. steveoh macrumors newbie

    steveoh

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #9
    would this work for the new aluminum macbook as well?
     
  10. FieryFurnace thread starter macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #10
    I just ordered it.

    Thanks for all your replies!
     
  11. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #11
    no the new aluminum macbooks use DDR3
     
  12. chakramspice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #12
    Thank you!

    Thanks so much for posting this. My friend and I will now be upgrading our MacBooks' RAM now! :D What a great deal.
     

Share This Page