Is this a good deal?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tissot201, Dec 14, 2015.

1. tissot201 macrumors newbie

I'm new to the Apple scene and I have been checking out the new Macbook. I was able to find a second hand Macbook 1.1Ghz for $800. Is this a good deal?
    Also any tips to buying a Macbook second hand?

2. Warbrain macrumors 603

Warbrain

I would buy it. I missed out on a used MacBook for 860. I'm still somewhat kicking myself for not outbidding someone on it.

Find out how much more Applecare is available on the device. It'll still be covered but if it was bought in April then Applecare is running out.

3. Ludatyk macrumors 65816

Ludatyk

860? That's a crazy good deal... Was that on eBay?

4. tissot201 thread starter macrumors newbie

He says there's 10 months Applecare left. How would I verify this and would I have to transfer the applecare?

5. Warbrain macrumors 603

Warbrain

Yep. I wasn't ready to fully commit to a MacBook at that point, though. I'm glad I didn't as the MacBook Pro I have now is more to my liking overall.

You would need the serial number. There shouldn't be a transfer for it as it's associated with the device.

6. zamboni52 macrumors regular

I got really lucky a month ago. I was exchanging my laptop (1.1 256GB SG rMB) at an unnamed big box retailer because some of the backlighting behind the keys were off a little. I was in a rush so I gave them the old one after wiping the information and they bagged up the replacement and I left. I didn't even look a the receipt. After I restored my backup from Time Machine, I noticed a lot more unused disk space than normal. Turns out they gave me a 1.2 512GB SG rMB. I went back to the store a few days later and they said that they had price matched my original machine because they didn't know it was different. Long story short. I got my current configuration for $1099 + tax.

7. ZipZap macrumors 601