Is this a good time to buy a MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Onewa80, Oct 3, 2011.

1. Onewa80 macrumors newbie

I feel like I need to say this every time I start a topic like this here: If this is needed be closed, go ahead, and if there's already a topic like this out there, I would love to be directed to it. I made a topic similar to this months ago and now that there are more rumors, I'm wanting to see if anything has changed.

I've been saving up for a 13in Core i7 2011 MBP for a couple months(Money issues. Sigh) to do some professional work on it, and I'm afraid the moment I buy it, a new one will come out. Stuff like that happens with apple, lol.

I'm usually on top with the rumors and love to hear little leaks and tidbits like that, but for some reason I can't pin-point any idea on when it will come out.

Does anyone know if I buy the MBP this month or next month that it will still be new and a new one won't take it's place? Thanks.:apple:

(Just saying, I'd LOVE to get a 15in but as I said, I can't shave money like that off.)

2. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

According to the buyer's guide, it's not the best time, but there won't be significant changes until probably spring next year, as there aren't new components out yet. Maybe a slight processor bump, but nothing big.

I'd also just get the i5. The extra $300 really doesn't get you a whole lot.

3. mountains macrumors regular

Is there even a processor out for the 13" to be bumped up to? My understanding is that the new processors were only really applicable to the 15/17.

4. stark4 macrumors 6502

i think the new one is coming out pretty soon.

5. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

I wanted it now and I didn't want to wait. I mean if they get CPU bumps, its not the end of the world. If its a major design change which I Doubt, it might bother me a little but who cares. The current one looks great and has great specs. A Quad core i7 2.2 will last you a while.

6. lll macrumors newbie