Is this a joke or an issue? :/

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by WhiteIphone5, Apr 18, 2013.

1. WhiteIphone5 macrumors 65816

WhiteIphone5

Yesterday I got an email that he needed my phone number because Apple needed it to place the order. Today I get this email

Attached Files:

2. twietee macrumors 603

twietee

May be off topic, but is your name spelled like that correctly? I've never seen it before, and I saw a lot of them. ;)

Did you place an order? Not sure what they want with your phone number, though.

3. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

WhiteIphone5

Yup thats how its spelled on my Birth certificate :)
    I did not it was a contest that I won and Im supposed to be receiving an ipad but maybe I'm just being played with.
    This is their Site

http://www.appletvhacks.net/2013/04/11/apple-tv-of-your-dreams-contest-winners-announced/

4. twietee macrumors 603

twietee

I have zero experience with this kind of stuff, so I won't be of much help. But assuming the, rather informal, mail was written by some real person I guess you could just reply stating your concern(s)? If not fishy, he'll probably find another way to solve the problem without your number or could specify why they need it anyway. Maybe doublecheck with Apple directly?

eh, and congrats to your ipad....may you ever receive it! :)

5. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

WhiteIphone5

I feel like its a joke. If apple online store was really having issues, it would be all over the Internet

6. twietee macrumors 603

twietee

Oops, sorry, misread your op, so you gave them your number already.

I dunno, don't think it necessarily must be a joke, though. But I wouldn't get my expectations too high, so it'll be a pleasant surprise if it turns out good in the end. Fingers crossed.

7. snberk103 macrumors 603

I typed the content of Tomek's email into Google, and there were no exact hits (or even close) so it's not a wide-spread scam.