Is this a known bug? Headphones remote

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by ClemTiger0408, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. ClemTiger0408 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    I have the Apple headphones with the built in mic/remote.

    I don't use them often, but I finally did this week and I noticed that clicking the microphone had no effect on playback. It wouldn't stop, skip ahead, change volume, etc. with iPhone 4.

    Is this a known iPhone 4 bug, or do I need to start investigating elsewhere?
     
  2. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #2
    Apple headphones should control your iPhone's iPod. If it doesn't then you have a problem with your phone.

    One click - play/pause
    Two clicks - next song
    Three clicks - previous song
     
  3. Pared macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #3
    It might be your headphones. Everything functions as it supposed to on my device and rather well might I add.
     
  4. matthewhotdude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Shropshire, England
    #4
    Mine sometimes does that, I find unplugging them and plugging them back in does the trick. Try blowing your hole also
     
  5. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    You could have a piece of lint in your jack preventing the button from working properly. Use a toothpick to fish it out.

    If there is nothing there then its the headphones.
     
  6. kaelell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #6
    :rolleyes:
     
  7. ClemTiger0408 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #7
    Thanks. I hadn't heard about this being a problem so I assumed it might be the headphones.

    I don't have another set of the same headphones nor another iPhone to test it on so I wasn't able to do my normal troubleshooting.
     

Share This Page