Is this a new feature?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MDTyKe, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. MDTyKe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    I just did this accidentally, and I'm unsure if it's new, or whether I've never noticed it before... but..

    I dragged something, by mistake onto the toolbar of Finder, and it made an icon for it! Anyone else notice this? I've tried it with apps, pdf etc..


    Matt
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Been there as long as the toolbar in the Finder. I believe.
     
  3. MDTyKe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    I got a friend to try it in Leopard, and nothing happened - must be new then?
     
  4. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
  5. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Your friend did it wrong then. I'm running Leopard. and You've been able to do this since at least jaguar, iirc.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Yup, can do it in Leopard. I have the apps folder and disk utility in there.
     
  7. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #7
    Doesn't work for me. Nor does the "Put Back" feature, for that matter. :confused:

    Edit: Oh, the toolbar thing does work, I didn't realise you had to kind of displace the search field to make it work.
     
  8. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    You're running Snow Leopard? When I used Snow Leopard in the store I couldn't drill down in stacks, it would just open the folder in a Finder window when I clicked a folder.


    For the put back feature to work, you have to right click on the item in the trash that you want to put back.

    For this feature to work you have to drag the icon to the menu bar and hold it there for a second or two, and the other icons will shift over a little, then you can let go.
     
  9. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #9
    I think you need to empty the Trash after updating to Snow Leopard before it starts working.
     
  10. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #10
    Nope, nothing doing. I'm not using SL, by the way. I thought someone said it worked in Leopard too?
     
  11. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #11
    No, it's a new Snow Leopard feature. :D
     
  12. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #12
    Ah, that would explain it, then... :):eek:
     

Share This Page