is this a virus on my iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by jovduasco, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. jovduasco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    i woke up this morning with this problem... when i tap the "phone" icon in my iphone, a blank screen comes us with the words "BY MAX" and after a few seconds goes back to my home screen...i can receive calls but cannot hang up.. i can make calls via the separate contact list... i cannot access the phone features.. i have an unlocked/jailbroken 3g with cydia installer..
     
  2. Trajectory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    It seems most people who are having problems with their iPhones are the ones who jailbroke/unlocked them.

    That's likely the cause.
     
  3. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    I would recommend you to install an official non hacked firmware that will most likely fix your problem and if it dosent i think Apple would like to hear your problem.
     
  4. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #4
    Please take your iPhone into an Apple store and show them. Please.
     
  5. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    It's jailbroken - Apple aren't going to touch it. If it only started this morning, did you install a new app yesterday? Or the day before? It's more likely to be a developer announcing his or her name's in lights in an unwittingly clumsy way that buggers up the phone, than a virus. If you think it is a virus, restore your phone, jailbreak it again, and be sure of the provenance of your apps before you reinstall them. I'm sure it's just an easter egg placed by some ego developer of one of your jailbreak-apps. It's probably this sort of stuff (among other things) that Apple screens for when they get submissions to their store.
     
  6. jovduasco thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #6
    i agree... just wondering though that nobody else is having the same problem..so i hope MAX is happy now.. just restored it again using the pwnage tool and its back and running well
     

Share This Page