Is This AEBS+TC Setup Optimal?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jzj687, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. jzj687 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I was just wondering if someone could tell me whether i set up my system in the best way possible.


    I included a pic i made....hopefully it can help clairfy.



    Physical setup:

    Modem connected via ethernet cable to WAN of AEBS(new)

    Time Capsule LAN connected via ethernet cable to LAN of AEBS(new)

    AEBS(old) LAN connected via ethernet cable to LAN of AEBS(new)


    Settings:

    AEBS(new):

    - creating a 5ghz "n" network. Sharing public IP address
    - 24mps multicast rate. 25% transmit power. using wide channels


    Time Capsule:

    - Creating a 5ghz "n" network. same exact name as AEBSnew network. bridge mode.
    -24mps multicast rate. 25% transmit power. using wide channels


    AEBS(old):

    - creating a b/g network. different name than other network mentioned.
    - bridge mode.





    My internet works fine on both networks... i usually get a transmit rate of 243-300 and an rssi of -48 with the "n" network.

    I just want to know if you think this is the optimal setup!...thanks!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      26.2 KB
      Views:
      195
  2. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. jzj687 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #3

    huh?....ones a time capsule...instead of it extending the network and using up wireless bandwith, i was told it would run faster if i set it up wired and made it create the same network name which in effect, extends the network
     
  4. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Time Capsule IS a router. I don't see why you need a 5 Ghz Airport and a 5 Ghz Time Capsule.
     
  5. jzj687 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #5
    Four words: BIG. HOUSE. MANY. FILES.

    Hence the 2 "routers" (3 if you count the old one being used for b/g) and the need for the TC drive.


    I dont see what that comment has to with my question though....
     
  6. jzj687 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #6
    anyone?...

    Mainly wanna know if it should be LAN-LAN or LAN-WAN since the TC and AEBSold are both creating networks as well
     

Share This Page