Is this common? (Crashing)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by blkonblk17, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. blkonblk17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    #1
    I purchased a 2011 Mac Mini yesterday with the i5 and 500GB. I immediately upgraded it to a 7200 750GB HD. I also changed it's memory from the measly 2GB to 8GB using brand new corsair memory purchased off amazon. For some reason at random times using the computer I get the black screen of death asking me to restart the computer. I have tried to narrow it down by only putting 1 stick of memory at the time to see if it does this as it can be a faulty memory stick but since it happens at different times it's difficult to narrow it down. What do you guys recommend?

    Thanks

    This is the memory

    [​IMG]

    This is the screen I get

    [​IMG]
     
  2. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like your hard drive/installation. Swap the original hard drive back and give that a go.
     
  3. blkonblk17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    #3
    Any other way to know for sure, like to troubleshoot? I ask because the drive is new and need to decide either to return it or something.
     
  4. clystron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #4
    Put the original RAM in first, if the problem goes away its the RAM.
    If the problem persists put back the original HDD, if there still is a problem return the Mini.
     
  5. blkonblk17 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the advice. This sucks! All this troubleshooting. For now I've removed only one of the 4GB sticks and it seems to be working fine. (I'm trying to narrow down if it's one of the sticks which is bad) But that's just the thing. It can be working fine and 1-4 or more hours is when it crashes. So it's hard to pinpoint the actual problem.
     
  6. clystron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #6
    HDD problems rarely lock up the system like that so I would really focus on the RAM here. You may have to really work your machine to trigger this problem or better yet you could run a memtest86 (see here). I assume you also checked the temperatures and the fan?
     
  7. Jezak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #7
    Agreed. I've seen this problem with bad RAM before. I'd start there for sure.
     
  8. ricardoflamingo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #8
    I had the same issue with the same ram. I took it out and put the original ram back in. No problems. I sent the Corsair back to Amazon and am awaiting Crucial replacement.
     
  9. RKilbane20 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #9
    I installed that same ram a week ago and haven't had one single problem.
     
  10. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  11. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #11
    I've read many times where people have trouble with RAM brands like Corsair and other PC-centric "performance" RAM.

    I personally always stick to RAM specifically confirmed to be Mac model-compatible. Crucial (via their auto-configuration system) or OWC are the two that I will typically use. So far, after 15 years, I've never had a bad batch from either of them.
     
  12. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #12
    try the apple hardware test (requires internet connection):
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1509

    i've been using that same corsair ram for weeks now and have not had a single kernel panic with the mini server. i assume you were careful taking the modules out of the horrendously tight packaging.
     
  13. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #13
    Most likely kernal panics (?) due to bad ram. Run memtest or Rember to see if it is the ram.
     
  14. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #14
    I also would put kingston on that list. Used 2x2 kingston sticks on my 08 computer and recently 2x4 on my 11 computer and works beautifully.

    Those corsairs disks had too many negative reviews on amazon for my taste.
     
  15. manicwinter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #15
    I've had bad experiences with Corsair RAM in Macs. I've had good success with Patriot RAM in Macs and it is usually very cheap. Corsair has been great in all the PCs I build though - I'm not sure why they have problems in Macs.
     

Share This Page