Is this deal too good to be true?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Liquinn, May 6, 2012.

  1. Liquinn Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
  2. G51989 macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #2
    I don't know about you, but for me. No pic= no sale
     
  3. Liquinn thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #3
    I should of bought this instead of my 13" MBP damnit.

    What model Mac Pro is it?
     
  4. G51989 macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #4
    It sounds to good to be true man
     
  5. Liquinn thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #5
    Why? :(
     
  6. G51989 macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #6
    Not a ton of seller info, not any pictures of it. Why not get in contact and request pictures of the Mac Pro?
     
  7. 184550 Guest

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #7
    Why are you still dwelling on this? It's a scam.

    Just because you want it to be true doesn't make it so.
     
  8. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Looks like a Mac Pro 2,1 from 2007.
    It's not a bargain IMO.
    You won't be able to run Mountain Lion on it for example, as I believe it has 32bit EFI.
    I'd fuhgeddaboudit ;)
     
  9. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Actually, given the fact that it's listed as having dual 2.8GHz Xeons and a Radeon HD 2600 XT, it's likely a stock 3,1 (2008/Harpertown) machine.

    But the price does seem to be a bit low. The OP should compare it with what the same models have sold for recently on eBay UK.
     
  10. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #10
    The link says 2.8GHz Xeons, so it should be a 3,1 with full 64bit EFI (required for Mountain Lion). It also says it's an ex-Rental product, so the case is probably pretty beaten (thus no pictures).

    Worst thing imho is 2GB only, which means you'd have to add at least 4 to 8 GB of the expensive FB-DIMM (800MHz) memory to allow for halfway decent working without constant swapping to disk and slowing the computer. Consider that additional cost (around here it's about 90,-/ 185,-€ for 4/8 GB FB-DIMM's) in your decision.

    Also - the graphic card is pretty pathetic. For web browsing and light office work it's probably sufficient, but with driving bigger(Hi-Res)/multiple monitors it will quickly show its limitations (not to mention gaming in the first place).

    A decent replacement (like e.g. a 5770) is probably another 100,-€ (new - used maybe cheaper). PC cards can work ootb and can also be flashed to show boot screen (if it's indeed a 3,1 MP) and have DVD player/Steam games enabled (if i understood correctly).
     
  11. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    My bad, I think you're right :)
    Still, I got the impression the OP thought this was a more recent model and thus bargaintastic, which I don't think it is.
     
  12. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #13
    No it isn't too good to be true. These systems go for not much more than that on eBay,. This is a company selling off ex-rental units. Price is a fair one based on the market.
     
  13. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #14
    I would buy it, Amazon protect customers well even if it is a fake ad. Bare bones 3,1 MP is worth about that now, needs about £800 worth of RAM, GFx card and Hdd upgrades to be nice.
     
  14. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #15
    That's the model I was thinking. The price translates to a pretty normal asking price in the US if you convert pounds to dollars, but obviously UK prices differ. They do mention it was a rental unit, so I imagine it's been used pretty hard. You don't rent a big ass tower like that unless you need it for something.
     

Share This Page