Is this happening to anyone else? (Tethering)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Andrew Henry, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #1
    So, I've been using tethering with my iPhone for the last few months, I don't use much data, in fact I haven't even used 700 mb in the last 3 - 4 months with tethering, starting today, I have been having this weird problem, I'll connect my phone to the computer and the internet will work just fine for awhile, then sometimes it will just cease to work, then after that if I go into the tethering settings it will say "Please contact AT&T to enable tethering on this device", and tethering won't work anymore, if I reboot the phone, tethering will be enabled again, and it will be working just fine.

    So it's kind of weird, maybe AT&T is cracking down? No big deal really. So is anyone else having this problem or is it just me?

    :eek:
     
  2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #2
    Yup, it seems that AT&T is randomly disabling benm hack for tethering....:(:(:(
     
  3. CallofDutyFreak macrumors newbie

    CallofDutyFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #3
    I noticed that I can no longer log onto Facebook or Myspace while tethering.:mad:
     
  4. Andrew Henry thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #4
    So it isn't just me! Whew! Still sucks, but I knew this day would come sooner or later, I was just hoping way later. It doesn't happen everytime, so I think that AT&T just does a sweep and anyone tethering at that time gets disabled, no biggie though a reboot cures all!
     
  5. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
  6. Andrew Henry thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #6
    No idea about PDAnet but once it's finally disabled for good I'll be going the jailbreak route again!
     
  7. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #7
    I've still got mine, so maybe I'm next.....:(:(:(
     

    Attached Files:

  8. CallofDutyFreak macrumors newbie

    CallofDutyFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #8
    I'm using PDANet.
     
  9. buddy1065 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #9
    Has not happened to me. I use MyWi on my new 3gs and no big problems. I might crap in my undies if I got an ATT message like that though.:eek:
    incidently I did not jailbreak before installing MyWi.
     
  10. Andrew Henry thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #10
    My phone is not jailbroken, this is just using a mobileconfig, so I imagine any third party apps won't be affected, but if you're like me and just using a mobileconfig, you may end up getting disabled, but all you have to do is restart your phone and it's back, just kind of creepy knowing ATT is out there watching now!
     

Share This Page