Is this harmful for my ACD / Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by c073186, Feb 24, 2008.

1. c073186 macrumors 6502a

I just got a Samsung ML-2851 laser printer and after connecting it, whenever printing (or even idling sometimes) the lights in my room flicker. This power fluctuation seems like it would be very harmful for a computer or a monitor. Should I be concerned? I have everything hooked up to a APS UPS (printer is connected to surge only, the CPU and monitor are on battery backup section).

2. Keebler macrumors 68030

no offense, but I would be more worried as to why the lights flicker.
    I'm not an electrician, but that doesn't sound right at all. Is most of your equipment loaded into one outlet? ie. are you using the UPS plus a few power bars or something?

Try spreading the equipment out if that's the case.

Cheers,
    Keebler

3. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

It could possibly be damaging your MacPro. I know both our previous PCs died within the space of a few weeks due to power fluctuations...

Get an electrician to sort things out, your lights shouldn't be flickering whatever the issue...

4. c073186 thread starter macrumors 6502a

I moved the printer into another room and the lights do not appear to be flickering. I wonder if it is because there is too much power drawing off of one electrical outlet? I have no idea either but until I can get it sorted out I am leaving the printer in a separate room.

5. pprior macrumors 65816

This is not at all uncommon for many laser printers to do, though less than a few years ago. I've got an older Dell laser that did this all the time - it's upstairs for wife to use now so I don't notice as much but yes when you fire it up for print more the lights flicker. We've got 400 amp service to our house, and wired well, it just happens.