Is this iMac G5 salvageable?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by domini99, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. domini99 macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    I found this dirt cheap iMac G5 on the web someone is selling nearby, but it has the vertical lines problem.

    The screen looks like this:
    uploadfromtaptalk1453729378347.jpg


    Would this machine be salvageable or should I just leave it?


    What could possibly the issue be?
     
  2. PKBeam macrumors regular

    PKBeam

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #2
    it might just be the display - in that case you could plug it into an external monitor if you bought it. on the other hand the graphics card may be faulty, in which case it's game over unless you have FireWire to use target disk on it.
     
  3. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    It may be the LCD, I would pick it up because you could use an external monitor or replace the LCD. Either way there are parts there that can be used
     
  4. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #4
    Target disk will just make it a big clunky external hard drive.
     
  5. PKBeam macrumors regular

    PKBeam

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #5
    target disk has fixed problems for me before
     
  6. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    That does not make sense, TDM makes you Mac act like a FireWire HDD for another computer
     
  7. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #7
    Due to the strange pattern on the screen, I suppose it's the graphics card tho, and not the LCD

    Repairing the graphics card might cost me more than the machine is worth because I don't have the right tools for it.
     
  8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Vertical lines suggests it's more likely the panel to me, especially if they're consistently in the same locations. A bad GPU/VRAM would be more random. It's a risk.
     
  9. redhatcode29 macrumors 6502

    redhatcode29

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #9
    I have been looking at one which is at the more or less similar stage... just worried if its the GPU..
    if it is the GPU, then, mirroring won't work right ?
    DSC_0917.jpg
     
  10. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    If it's GPU the the second display will show the same problems as the mains
     
  11. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #11
    It has both a faulty display and GPU. I'd suggest leaving it there :p
     
  12. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #12
    I don't have the iMac yet, I could ask the seller if he has tried connecting a second display, but I think I'll just leave this one, and just keep looking for another mac.

    I do have found a Macbook 1.1 (Core Duo), which has been on since.. forever, and noone put a bid at it.
    He says "You can come and pick it right up for 130 euros"

    The thing has dead touchpad buttons.

    I'll just wait, maybe I'll find something else, otherwise I'll try to put a bid on that macbook. Not sure what I'll give for it, but 130 euros for a 2006 macbook running OS X 10.5, and has broken touchpad buttons... 130 is way too much.
     
  13. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    I wouldn't go over 45 euros for that!
     
  14. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #14
    Yeah thinking the same.
    €30 was my go.

    But hey, "It has an Apple logo, it must be worth over a 500 bucks!"
     
  15. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #15
    I would buy it depending on what is installed and if you can use any of it:

    SATA HDD
    RAM
    Bluetooth
    Airport

    I had an iMac G5 that displayed these issues that was simply a bad board due to blown caps and I used the HDD for another Mac, the RAM was compatible also with another Mac.
     
  16. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #16
    Well, I don't have any other Mac, or a PC that takes DDR memory.

    Hard drives... I already have like a zillion laying around.


    I was thinking if it might be fixable, but I don't want to take that risk.
     
  17. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #17
    PKBeam give me an idea. You could try to start it in target disk mode. If you see a FireWire symbol bouncing around on the screen, that would indicate GPU is bad, if not, then the screen is bad.
     
  18. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #18
    The machine shows the finder icon, because it does not have an operating system installed.

    You can see it in the picture
     
  19. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #19
    It should go into TDM, without an OS. not sure
     
  20. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #20
    It should, but I don't have access to the Mac.
     
  21. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #21
    If it's the GPU, mirroring won't work.

    I'm affraid that on the one I'm looking at the GPU is indeed toast, I'm not getting this one.
     
  22. redhatcode29 macrumors 6502

    redhatcode29

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #22
    probably you should. I am passing it off too.....US25.00 for an unknown status ...!!
     

Share This Page