Is this iMac good for my needs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dfusion-, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. dfusion- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #1
    hello guys :)

    im planning on buying the 27 inch imac 3,06-GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM
    & ATI Radeon HD 4670 grafische processor met 256 MB

    my questions:

    1) Will graphical programs run smoothly? ( photoshop CS4, afther effects CS4, final cut pro )

    2) If i instal win7 on bootcamp, would the programs i mentioned above also worked as good as in mac or would the run a bit slower?

    3)is this iMAc good for gaming through bootcamp? :D

    i hope you guys can help me out..i think this imac is good enouhg or should i go with the i5 or i7 one?:)
     
  2. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #2
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    If you do a lot After Effects work and gaming, I would squeeze some extra money for i5 and ATI 4850. It's definitely worth it
     
  4. Tombs macrumors regular

    Tombs

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey England
    #4
    What he said, for what its going to cost you extra its worth it. Plus really its the graphics card you will benefit from initially and as more programs are written to exploit the i5/i7 processors you'll be in a good position to take advantage.:D
     
  5. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    Agreed with the i5/4850, the Core2Duo will be seen as very much entry level soon and more apps/games will be optimized for quad core cpu's, plus when OpenCl support starts appearing in programs you will see much more benefits from the higher end Radeon.
     
  6. dfusion- thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #6
    do final cut pro, afther effects CS4 or photoshop CS4 use the full potential of the core i5 or core i7?
     
  7. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #7
    With Photoshop some filters etc are multithreaded and others aren't. Not sure about the other apps.
     
  8. devianter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #8
    isnt photoshop using even a videocard for rendering ? cs4 is as i remember
     

Share This Page