Is this internet fast enough for web gaming?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by juliancs, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. juliancs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #1
    I am having laughably bad problems with my ISP (virgin). After five I get up dial up speed etc etc.

    Anyway, after doing a bit of research just about everyone in my area is on Virgin, and I've talked to O2 who restrict how many people they put on a server and won't just keep selling (like virgin do - and they have admitted that my server is clogged and can't handle it).
    Anyway! O2's highest package has traffic management on p2p downloads at peak times...250kb/s (not 250kbps!.

    Some of the games I play, I think company of heroes, uses p2p connections. Will this be enough? I'm pretty much going to be playing at peak times so...\

    I'm thinking it must be - quarter of a meg a second is enough to stream the small amount of data required?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    O2 won't have the hardware to segregate traffic till February so there is no clear answer on this.

    But you wrote "250kb/s (not 250kbps)" anyway so I'm not sure what you are asking, maybe KB/s? Anyway doesn't matter the identification trigger for p2p downloads is going to be based off data transfer not connections.
     
  3. Matty-p macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #3
    server ???????

    well thats 2 megabits so yes that will be enough. count your self lucky where i live i only get a 2 mbit connection all the time even at midnight (this is the maximum speed for anywhere in my village as we don't have a exchange in our village its miles away thus slow speeds. but i do have a dedecated conection meaning never less than 2 megabit unlike the people on normal plans like bt or virgin and i get truly unlimited downloads :):))
     
  4. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #4
    Interesting - where did you get this info? I said the distinction between 250kb/s and 256kbps as i understand the latter is a lot slower.

    Anything can be better than virgin right now.
     
  5. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #5
    You keep writing roughly the same thing twice. 250 kilobits per second. If you want to say 250 kilobytes per second use a capital B. The "/" and the "p" mean exactly the same thing.
     
  6. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #6
  7. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #7
    Your site states that's only for peer to peer activities. For all other normal activities, there shouldn't be slow down or throttling. You should get from 800kb/s - 8Mb/s which is okay. You should be good to game. The best test is actually trying yourself. You can upgrade if you need to later I hope.

    Where do you live? I thought throttling was illegal in the US, but I'm not sure. I think the FCC lost a case and is in the process of repeals.
     
  8. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #8
    As I said in my original post, some of the games I play, as far as I understand, use peer to peer.

    .co.uk = United Kingdom.

    A guy here:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/comp...know-if-250-kbps-enough-online-pc-gaming.html

    Mentions the difference between 250kbps and 250KB/s. I assume O2 did not make a mistake and means 250kbps?
     
  9. CJM macrumors 65816

    CJM

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    U.K.
    #9
    Urgh. Fibre networks can't come fast enough... And as for 250kb/s, that's plenty for online gaming. My max dl hits about 400 kb/s at offpeak and drops quite a bit during peak but I don't really have any issues.
     
  10. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #10
    Thanks. I'm on a fibre network - but so is everyone else. Looking forward to switching.
     
  11. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #11
    Sorry about that. Internet companies almost always report bits and not bytes, so what O2 reported is correct. You should still be fine though.
     

Share This Page