iPhone is this Iphone 4s bricked?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eclipse01, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #1
    A friend of mine gave me an iphone to try and fix and it seems to be stuck in DFU mode (the plug and the apple logo). i have tried the 10 second thing and tiny umbrella to bump it out of this mode, but it just loops and goes right back to it.

    I know they say this phone is unbrickable, but now i'm starting to think this one is?

    Any ideas??
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    if you have the apple logo your not in DFU more your in restore. try holding the home button. what are you trying to do? with the dfu firmware version etc. the only way a iPhone is bricked is a hardware issue.
     
  3. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #3
    its the iphone cable with an arrow into the itunes logo

    It just loops this over and over again, even with tiny umbrella (exit recovery)

    restoring in itunes fails also
     
  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    that is recovery mode. google exit recovery mode


    [​IMG]
     
  5. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    What firmware a you restoring to? Are you receiving any errors?
     
  6. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #6
    Wirelessly posted

    I have, and your right recovery mode keeps looping even while using tiny umbrella, also while in dfu mode, nothing shows up in tiny umbrella, also tried boot fix and restore in new itunes using a different computer in recovery and dfu mode...what havnt i tried yet?
     
  7. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    What is iTunes saying when you try to restore?
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    Which firmware?
    Is it a GSM or CDMA phone?
    Does TU recognise it?
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    Provide info if you want help here other wise take it to apple see if they can help.what firmware are you on? what firmware are you trying to restore? Do you have blobs? What have you tried? How are you doing it? Etc we are trying to help you without info we can't.
     
  10. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #10
    Sorry crashed for the night.

    i'll try to cover every question and all info.

    CDMA phone
    Itunes recognizes it but needs a restore, once I try that it just say error and some 4 digit number.
    Tiny Umbrella recognizes it (as a restore device..not connected) and when I click exit restore the iphone screen goes black then back to the restore screen.
    also tried DFU mode (blank screen) in which tiny umbrella no longer recognizes (but I know its in the mode), then tried fix recovery...still nothing.
    i'm not sure what firmware it was on as it was just givin to me from someone that didn't know too much bout their phone. I'm guessing it was on firmware 5.1.1 and I tried puting the new latest and greatest on (6.0.1, think thats it)
    and no blobs

    think that covers most the questions.
     
  11. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #11
    With no blobs you can only restore to current firmware sorry try restoring via iTunes. If you gat a error then you will need to point it at apple server.
     
  12. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #12
    i'm fine with putting the most current firmware on it, I just want to get it working again.

    as for pointing to apple servers, I assume it is since "cydia as hosts" is greyed out and I cant check it in TU.
     
  13. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #13
    That "some 4 digit number" is kind of necessary when figuring out why it won't restore. Try it again, get the full error message, and let us know what it said.


    Assuming is never a great idea. The error message might even be about this device pointing to cydia servers instead of Apple servers.
     
  14. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #14
    I tried TU on 3 different computers and its greyed out on all of them, also the owner tried a restore without tiny umbrella even installed.

    Also this isn't a jailbroken phone, unless apple gave her a refurbished phone that was jailbroken, which I doubt
     
  15. braxton34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #15
    The most critical piece of information you can provide is the 4 digit error code that iTunes provides when the 6.0.1 restore fails.
     
  16. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #16
    Doesn't make too much of a difference at this point though. If your primary goal is getting it out of recovery mode, then we'll need to know what the error number says. And the fact that tiny umbrella is installed on your computer, would more or less guarantee that your hosts file has been edited to redirect from gs.apple.com. The programs themselves will do this when used/installed.
     
  17. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #17
    but why would the option for setting cydia to hosts be greyed out on every computer I installed it on?
     
  18. FlatlinerG macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Don't know what to tell you about that, but either way, try restoring it in iTunes again and get back to us with the error number.
     
  19. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #19
    will do!
     
  20. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #20
    Stubborn? You ask for help, and numerous people have asked for the error digit numbers.
     
  21. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #21
    if you provided info in the beginning. Your device would probably be restored by now instead people either have to beg to help or fish for info or let you solve it on your own. So how do you want this to play out.
     
  22. eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #22
    geeze i was working all day, why are you guys so angry?

    i appreciate the help I really do.

    an error has occurred (3194)
     
  23. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #23
    The thing is you could have said that or wrote down the error code, it's kind of common sense if you're asking for help you give details.
     
  24. eclipse01, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012

    eclipse01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #24
    ok new turn of events, I managed to change my hosts "manually in the host file" and got it to attempt restore and it changes to the restore status screen then gives up and itunes shoots out an error (40) now.

    or should I say Itunes stays on "verifying iphone restore with apple" then it gives up and gives the error 40
     
  25. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #25
    Error 40: These errors typically occur when security software interferes with the restore and update process. Follow Troubleshooting security software issues to resolve this issue. In rare cases, these errors may be a hardware issue. If the errors persist on another computer, the device may need service.
     

Share This Page