Is this possible? (partition hd and map my folders to it)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by eBrooker, Nov 9, 2008.

1. eBrooker macrumors newbie

I'm new to macs and was just wondering if this is possible (it's how I set up all my pcs).

Basically I want to create a partition, and then 'map' my 'home' folder theret (my documents, music, videos, emails etc).

So I end up with two partitions, one for the OS and applications, and the other for all of my own important files. This just makes it easier to reinstall an OS in future (should it start to play up) without having to worry about your files. In vista you just right click your 'my documents' 'my pictures' (etc) folders and then change the location to where you want. Same with email you just select the store folder.

Really hope this is possible!
    :eek:

2. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

i.shaun

I'm not sure if that can be done, and if it can be, I sure don't know how.

I'm just here to offer another possible solution.

Create your own folders on the partition, ie: "Documents" "Applications" etc...

Open finder and drag the default ones away so they *poof* away. Drag your new folders into the finder sidebar for easy access. When saving files, the things in the finder sidebar are always one click away.

Now, to fix the Generic folder icon problem, click the "Mac Basics" link in my signature and follow the proper link.

When you want to re-format, just do it. All your files will be on the other partition anyway. If you use iPhoto, you can set it's default location to the location of the new photos folder.

-------------
    Front Row.

Want your movies to appear in front row, but don't want them in the default "Movies" folder? Place them in a folder of your choice, then Create an Alias to the folder. Place the Alias in the default "Movies" folder. Front row will then be directed to that folder when you select "Movies"

3. ChrisA macrumors G4

Lots of ways, best is to one I list last.